Come Stroll With Me

I can never say enough how much I love the area in which I live. The minute I leave my house and turn down the first street, I am hit with the most magnificent views of hills and vineyards.

Dude and I have started taking evening strolls since the weather has warmed up and the sun hangs in the sky until nearly 10pm (I love that). We tried to take a stroll during lunch one day, but it’s now proving to be too hot so I guess we will stick to our early evening walks.

The center of town in our village is small compared to some, but there are many houses and streets that surround it. There are also some nice hikes in the area and one of them is easy to get to once I leave my front door. I heard from the town maire that our village consisted of only a little more than 1000 people in 1970 and over the last 40 years has grown to be around 6000. Even though that is still a relatively small number, the growth is impressive. I guess everyone else likes the surrounding scenery, too! As a result of the growth, there are a number of really nice areas in which to walk and take in not only the view, but all the different styles of houses. It makes for a very enjoyable evening.

The last couple of days and evenings we have been venturing out more often. Come and take a quick stroll with me. I love sharing what is literally, in my back yard.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Wow, I’d be going on nightly walks if I lived someone that gorgeous too!
    How long do you think you will be staying in Provence? Have you moved there for good or is there always that little niggling in the back of your mind that you’ll end up back in the States?

    • Hi Sam! When I moved to Provence I told myself and everyone else that I was never going back to The States. I sincerely hope that’s true and I don’t miss it one bit, surprisingly. I love it here. Through all the hardship (the house and French Administration), I truly love it here and feel so blessed that I got to realize my dream :) BTW- I sent you an email cuz I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I hope you got it!

      • I’m afraid I didn’t get your email! That’s very strange. Thank you though! Would you mind trying to resend it? I don’t blame you for planning to always stay – it looks so gorgeous and so different from life in North America. I’m glad you’ve made your dream come too! It takes a lot of guts to up and move to another country but it can be so, SO worth it!

      • Hi Sam-I will post it on one of your comments :) Yes-it is great to have a dream come true and the view never, ever gets old!

  2. With 6000 population, your village/town is much bigger than I imagined and certainly bigger than most of the villages around where we live. You live in a very pretty area with lots of vineyards? What kind of wine do they make in your area; red, white or rose?

    • Hi Michel- It sounds small to me! It feels smaller than that, too since most of the people live outside the town. It makes for a nice, little center of town :) The wine I see here the most is red. I’m not an avid wine drinker, but I am an avid vine admirer!

  3. Absolutely beautiful. I remember such times in beautiful Provence. The word “magical” is rather over used but I can’t think of a better one. Thanks for these lovely photos.

  4. Evening strolls are the best…and you certainly have some beautiful scenery to enjoy! I love how light it stays outside until late, such a change from California. Especially now since it’s been so gorgeous out! Looks like you live in a very lovely village Ashley :)

    • I really like my village, Tuuala. It’s the best. It’s so country and quite. I’m with you on the evening strolls. I love how the sun is out so late in the summer and the air in the evening is so nice and warm. I can’t wait for the cigales to sing to me!

  5. Lucky you! The light is probably fantastic there this time of year as well. Love the pictures.

    • I do feel lucky, Renee, and if one happens to be out walking around 9:15pm, the sun is just about to set and goes down behind the hills and makes for the most magnificent colors across the landscape! Man, it gives me chills just thinking about it!

  6. Wow – you live in a HUGE metropolis compared to our 300 strong village!!! Lovely area though, I can see why so many people want to live there.

    • They’re clamoring to get in Jacqui! I just hope it doesn’t get too big. We don’t have any of those nasty looking apartments so that’s cool. BTW-I found some new cheese that I love :) I’m branching out!

Que pensez-vous?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

