A Rendez-Vous With A View

About a week and a half ago while Dude and I were shopping at the market, I happen to hear a mother and her son speaking American. Yes-that’s right, I said American. The reason why this was so shocking is that in the middle of the nowhere area of Provence that I live you don’t hear American too often.

I approached the mother and son and asked if they were from American and with wide eyes the mother replied, “Yes! Are you?” Well, of course I said yes and she was surprised as well when I told her that I lived in France. Now, I tell you, I’ve never seen someone more excited to see a fellow American than this lady. The minute I told her that I was a Provencal girl she wanted my number and was inviting Dude, myself and Tinki over (it just so happens that she has a daughter the same age as mine). She said that she had lived in Provence for a long time, but was never around any Americans. Her husband is French and her children go to French schools. She was so happy to speak to an American that I thought she was just going to leap over and hug me! Her son reiterated that fact that his mom was dying to meet another American to chat with.

Well, we hit if of right there in the market and chatted American for about an hour and a half and by the end of the conversation she had invited us over for a day at her place! We nearly closed the place down that night and when there was only 30 minutes to closing we exchanged numbers, promised to give each other a call to hook up and took off like lightening speed to finish our shopping before they kicked our American behinds out.

Fast forward to mid-week.

I gave my new American friend a call around Wednesday and we decided that this past Saturday we would hooked up. So on Saturday morning we headed out to their place and oh my goodness is their place amazing! They have the most wonderful view of the Mediterranean Sea and vineyards just in front of their yard and their house is the most adorable Provencal house ever!

 

It was an unbelievable how marvelous the weather was. Not a cloud in the sky and just a light breeze.

My new friend made us Cobb Salad for lunch with bread and cheese, of course, and Dude chatted it up with her husband. We ate on the terrace overlooking the water and it was just breathtaking.

After lunch, we picked apricots, mulberries, almonds ( and some other fruit I don’t know the name of ) right off of their garden trees and then we sat around and chatted some more while munching on them.

We got the grand tour of the area and the story of the family.

They also have a cute little dog name Spot and guess what?? My most favorite animal of all, a turtle :)

It was one of the most delightful days we had spent out in a while. I tell you, we have the best times with American girlfriends who are married to French men! It’s always nice to chat with a fellow American girl all about peanut butter, Dr. Pepper, Pop Rocks and Hugh Jackman!

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 17, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That’s so great that you have a new friend! And her home and yard are beautiful!

  2. What a fortuitous meet-up at the market. Always nice to meet new friends who have similar interests and backgrounds. Your new friends have a beautiful garden and views.

    • I agree Michel. My time is halved between work and traveling with the family and even though we speak English, it’s always nice to get out and do something with friends. I hope it’s the start of a great relationship between our daughters, as well!

  3. Absolutely stunning,

    It almost makes me wish that I was french. Meeting someone from your own country is always nice especially when you can see that they have settled somewhere that you yourself want to make a go of things.

    It sounds to me as if you have got some new friends for life. Congrats.

    • It is nice, Stephen. We only have two other friends here. I work so much at the office or on the house and if we are running around it’s just the family so we never meet anyone. It was terrific and the view was a bonus!

  4. Hugh Jackman’s the man! But I digress…

    So cool you got to meet a fellow expat, that sounds like such fun. Their place seems gorgeous as well which doesn’t hurt ;)

    Oddly enough I was just across the water in Corsica last week, often looking north across the Mediterranean and wondering where the south of France was. We were possibly looking right at each other that day without knowing it, haha.

    • Wow Corey! I think I just might have seen you over there having some fun :) Yes-Hugh Jackman is THE man, unfortunately he’s not MY man. hah! The day was super and we couldn’t have asked for better weather. I could have stayed on their terrace all day long and not been sorry!

Que pensez-vous?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

