Ummm- You Missin’ Something?

In France, there are a lot of households that hang their clothes out to dry from their window. I always thought this was a bit odd since there is so much dust and dirt from the cars driving by, not to mention all the times people have forgotten their drying clothes and left them out in the rain (unless that was how they were being washed), and of course, there’s the wind that’s always blowing here in Provence. That alone means there’s a good chance that someone might lose an article of clothing every now and then.

Well, some suspicions came true the other day while walking through a local village. It seems that someone had lost their “chonies” while hanging them out to dry! What a great surprise for the neighbor it must have been when he went to open his window the next day and saw his neighbor’s underwear stuck on his volet holder! He probably got a good chuckle out of it.

I’m sure it happens quite a bit here. I guess you can’t be a person easily embarrassed if you live in a village house!

If it were me that had found the underwear on my volet holder, I would have told one of my kids to go stick it on their head, run upstairs to the neighbor’s and when they answered the door, to just point at their head and say, “Ummm, you missin’ something important?” Knowing my son, he totally would have done that!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in France by the Snapshot and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Ah, so my daughter didn’t make up the word “chonies.” I love French laundry photos. Someday I want to do a photo blog of them. My favorite is the folding rack outside the front door in Gordes which included a beautiful lacy blue bra. I guess they don’t have fancy-bra thiefs (or is that thieves?)in France.

    • Nope, Lee, your daughter didn’t make that word up. It’s Spanish slang for underwear and I’ve been saying it for years cuz it’s such a funny word! As far as laundry photos goes, there are a bazillion opportunities here for them. I’m not sure about fancy-bra thieves, though. That would be funny!

  2. Hilarious! And even more hilarious is that I thought I was the only one who used the word “chonies” – love it! My husband always looks at me like I’m crazy, so I’ve tried to stop :) I lost something one time, but it was only a dish towel… thankfully!

    • I totally love the word “chonies”, Tuula. It’s so funny and my Spanish speaking friends always crack up when I say it to them! Good thing it was only a dish towel you lost, it could have been so much more embarrassing!

  3. Well at least they are getting a good airing, and by the looks of what is on the line, they need it. Lol :)

  4. I’ve taken many pictures of laundry hanging from little balconies, and I’ve wondered if anything ever went wrong. This answers my question – great post!

  5. Love it! You captured a bon moment. I hope they did get them back, just think – this could be the beginning of an interesting relationship :)

  6. That’s hilarious!!!

  7. That gave me a good chuckle. I love it when they hang the duvet out of the upstairs windows and I have to admit to adopting that habit.

  8. When I first moved to Paris many years ago, we hung our clothes to dry in the kitchen. There was a rack that came down from the ceiling. Since then I’ve lived in both California and Provence, but never in a village.

  9. “I always thought this was a bit odd since there is so much dust and dirt from the cars driving by, not to mention all the times people have forgotten their drying clothes and left them out in the rain…”

    I’ve always thought the same about people hang drying their clothes, but I remember this a lot while growing up in the Philippines. It’s free and your clothes won’t shrink; but there will always be a need for the use of iron!

    • Hi Antoinette! Thanks for the comment. It took me a bit of time to get to it as I’ve taken a short break to work on my house and travel since it’s summer. I agree with you though, it’s free (for people who might get some new articles of clothing, too) :)

Que pensez-vous?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

