My Two Hour Vacation

Most days at the office, I don’t leave for lunch. I get into doing my work and I usually just end up eating my lunch at my desk and just keep working through lunch time. Sometimes I’ve even forgotten to eat lunch! Very American, right?? There have been only a few occasions where I’ve said, “This bites and I’m going to enjoy my lunch time”, but those have been few and far between occasions.

Well, the other day, Dude and I decided to cash in on my lunch savings and we headed for the local boulangerie. Like most boulangeries these days, they have something called a Menu Formule where you can have a sandwich or salad, along with a drink and dessert for around 7€50. That, folks, is a steal.

Dude opted for a salad, ice tea and a tarte framboise while I got the poulet cesear sandwich (which is oh so delicious with the dressing and feta cheese), a bottle of water and a tarte fraise with Chantilly on top. Grand total was 15€. Money well spent, I would say.

Then we headed off towards the beach in La Ciotat which happens to be about 5 whole minutes from my work. Luckily, the tourist season has not quite started yet and we were able to find some free parking close by. We only had to walk a short distance and we found a nice bench under some trees to shade us from the sun. Viola, a two hour “vacation” with a spectacular view.

It’s times like these while I’m quietly enjoying my lunch and looking out onto the Mediterranean that I ask myself why I don’t do this more often. I don’t think I’ve quite transitioned, yet, to the mind frame of taking a proper lunch to rejuvenate myself.

I was never able to do that since in The States you’re lucky if you get a whole hour for lunch (I have friends who only get 30 minutes!) and that doesn’t leave much time to enjoy your lunch when that one hour includes drive time to get to a restaurant! One always feels like their rushing and can’t really enjoy lunch let alone digest it.

I do vow to take more two hour vacations this summer. With this sort of view, how can I not?!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 29, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I think if I had views like that I would be switching it round. Two hours work and the rest of the day for vacation, lunch and fun.

    • Hi Stephen! I second that and would gladly work for any company who implements it! I’m sure it would be someone in France that would be the first one given their already laid back ways of working :)

  2. You’re setting a good example for the rest of us by taking a two hour vacation! Thank you :)

  3. Ashley, I would be taking lunches along the sea often if I lived or worked just a few minutes away like you do, work or no work.

  4. I miss living in La Ciotat! Thank you for the beautiful reminders!

    • Hi Fred-La Ciotat sure is a lively place. It is so fired up during the summer with all the night time markets and bands and so peaceful (in a busy way) at the beach during the day. The beach to the eastern most part of La Ciotat is especially lovely :)

      • It sure is! I lived right near where Avenue d’Aquitaine hits Beau Rivage (the road along that eastern beach). Is there still a little sandwich shop/stand near that intersection? I would love to see it now!

  5. The water is just so beautiful!

Que pensez-vous?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

