The Arrival Of Our Kitchen

It feels so good when stuff you ordered finally comes. Yaaay, for Boulanger who came through for me. Boy, were we happy when our new refrigerator, washing machine, and oven finally arrived (a week after we ordered it!). Dude went to the apartment to meet the delivery guys and help them out. Things were looking mighty good when they were able to install the fridge and dishwasher but (oh no issues) when it came to the stove, the dang thing wouldn’t fit. You see, we have this cut out underneath the stove and in between two cupboards that is designed for an oven. Now dude is well knowledgeable about how to measure and he did a pretty terrific job.

Then we went to the store, measured all the appliances and made sure what we bought was gonna fit. Well the stupid manufacturer decided to put an extra gizmo on the bottom of the oven, but the guys at Boulanger didn’t leave it on the display model. Guess what we measured! So dude had to run to the local hardware store and try to figure out what to do to make our oven fit. Keeping in mind that this apartment is a rental and we couldn’t go cutting up the owner’s cupboards. In his terrible French he actually found a way to do it! I was so proud of him (I am serious, I really was). When I came home he had everything up and running and we were starting to feel all fancy like, because we had necessities.

We went all hog wild and actually did some real grocery shopping for the first time since we landed here. It felt so good to fill up the fridge, cook a real meal and do some much needed laundry. That night I actually sat at the dining room table, sipped on a glass of wine, and gazed at the lovely site of my new equipped kitchen. I never thought about not having a fridge, washing machine, or oven. Boy, I sure do appreciate the things that make one’s life simpler.

Here is what our kitchen looked like before the necessities.

Voila! Here is what is looks like now!  They are so cute and small.

Next on the waiting list was the arrival of all our stuff from the states. We only had 1 month to go and a real bed awaited me. I couldn’t wait.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 21, 2011, in French Daily and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

