This Time It’s FedEx and Volcanoes

FedEx has gone and done it again. They have totally pissed me off. I was told that the strikes had ended last week and all was good. We even got some packages delivered at the end of the week. Well, this week they decided, “Nope, strike again!”  Now I am sitting around waiting for some time sensitive material and they don’t even care.  As punishment, I did not ship with them this week. That’ll teach ‘em to mess with me.

I can hear them now during negotiations, “If Ashley doesn’t ship using FedEx, our company can’t survive! Get her done!” Well, I hear that in my own kingdom, anyway.

So negotiations are on and in the mean time my packages were diverted to Germany. That diversion costs me a whole day!

Now, I not only have FedEx to deal with, but also the volcano in Iceland. Granted it is not as bad as last year and the ash clouds have not reached us, but they should be in France by the end of the week. No shipments thanks to possible airport closures.

I am on pins and needles (literally) to see what awaits me for the rest of the week!

But the worst is that due to no packages arriving, that cute FedEx guy didn’t make a trip to see me. I guess next week should be super special for me then!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m also fed up with poor service & information from FedEx! Our company is importing Electric Bulk materials from Europe to Japan and some of our parcels are on hold at CDG airport. Even some of them were once re-routed to Cologne in Germnay then unbelievably they went back to CDG airport!

    FedEx Japan is quite useless to update the latest situation at CDG. It’d be greatly appreciated if you could let me know what’s really going on there for FedEx service.

    Hoping “cute guy” from FedEx is coming to your place this week.

    • It seems that the strike is finally over. I called FedEx last Friday and that was the word from the manager. There is still a problem with backlog, though. Our packages keep getting diverted to Germany and then re-routed back to CDG, also. It is causing a huge delay. The re-routing happened again this week. I woke up to the news that our packages were again diverted to Germany. It is costing us two extra days. Beware, this will most likely happen to you, as well. I was told that this could happen for the next couple of weeks until FedEx can catch up.

      FedEx in the states doesn’t ever have any info for me, either, when it comes to knowing what is going on in France. The first time I called last week they had told me the strike was over and then I called France FedEx and they said it was still on!

      I do have to say, though, (this is purely a personal comment) that for the most part, I have not had any issue with FedEx. The great majority of the time, we get our packages on time and when we ship using them, they arrive within 24h or 48h, at the latest. They have been my main courier for years and I have been happy with them. This strike was costly for them and I hope that they get around to paying their employees better!

      For now, rest assured that the strike is over, but expect delays for a few more weeks. Then all should be back to normal (unless they have another strike!). This is France, that could happen. I hope your packages arrive to you safe and sound. Good luck!

      FYI- The “cute guy” should be here on Wednesday.

  2. Thank you vey much for replying so quickly with such detail information. You’re so generous. My original message might have been a bit impudent by asking things though it was just first contact.

    Your “parsonal” comments regarding FedEx is quite fair. I do get your points, yes, they are usually reliable courier and their cost is quite reasonable compare to other courier service.

    Noted it’s France and anything could happen when it comes to a matter of labour issue.

    Hope the “cute gury” won’t change his job!

    • I hope your shipments arrive to you soon and any future problems are avoided.
      Mine are still stuck in Germany, so “cute guy” won’t be coming in any time soon this week. I hope next week shapes up much better, for both of us!

Que pensez-vous?

