Word(s) of the week-01 June 2011

Tant Pis

Tant pis, simply put, means too bad.

I have a colleague that says this all the time and it sounds so much funnier when she says that, than when we say it in English. She always says it in regards to when someone doesn’t take advantage of something they should have. Then it is simply too bad for them.

Story Time

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to Roland Garros to see the French Open. I was offered two free tickets for the day and sit in the VIP lounge of a certain company who offered these tickets to me, and be wined and dined for the day. The problem was that I did not receive the invitation when it was first sent to me. According to the sender of the invite, that was back in February.

About 2 weeks ago, I was again emailed by this company and they said that I hadn’t responded to their invite and asked me if I was going to go or not. I replied that I had never received the invitation. I checked my junk mail and spam folder and every possible place I could think of, but alas, no invitation was to be found.

They said they would email it to me again. This time I received it, but there was a big problem, the event was only two weeks away AND in Paris. Now, ya see, the TGV is terrific when you want to go to Paris from the south of France, but when your date of departure is too close to the date you want to buy the tickets, then it also comes with a terrifically big price. Well, it turns out that for me and dude to go to this event we would have to pay more than 500 Euros round trip! What the heck! The trip is a 3 hour train ride why the giganto price! I felt like I was really getting ripped off.

Looking at my budget (me being the only one working and dude a kept man), I unfortunately had to decline the invite. It was going to be too big a hit for my pocket book. Boy was I upset! Two free ticket to the French Open AND lunch in the VIP lounge! When was this ever going to come my way again?? Probably never.

A bit of time has now passed and I am sort of getting over the fact that I didn’t go, but there will always be a little twinge of pain when I watch the French Open knowing  that I wasn’t able to take advantage of that one, sweet, instance when I could have had it all.

That is when you say, tant pis pour moi 😦

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in French Word or Phrase and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

