La Chapelle Notre-Dame du Revest

In the Haute Var countryside of Provence there is a 12th century chapel situated between the villages of Saint-Martin and Esparron on highway D561.  Other than attending service on a Saturday night (which are only occasionally held), you cannot enter the chapel. The rest of the time it is closed.

It is however, a wonderful site to see. In 1926 it was declared a historical monument. There is a bench on the green just next to it where you can have a picnic lunch and view the chapel and the surrounding countryside. Attached to the chapel, opposite street side, is a cemetery that was constructed in 1856. An original monastery was there in the 6th century, but was destroyed.

Me, being the history lover that I am, must have walked around the chapel and cemetery six or seven times touching the walls as I went (no lie). I loved the feel of the stone (I do this all the time!).  It really brings me closer to the ancient past. I can feel it in my soul and unfortunately it is really difficult to describe unless the same happens to you. All that has transpired there since that chapel was built can only be known by the chapel. I really wish walls could talk.

Unfortunately, this was an unexpected find on the day I happened past. I only had my cell phone camera so the pictures aren’t so good. I will surely take a better camera the next time I venture over that way.

If you want to see a few more photos of the chapel, they appear on Flickr. To get there just click on the “More Photos” option under Recent Pictures.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Bon Voyage! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

