Summer Nightly Market in La Ciotat

Dude and I stepped out for the evening and walked over to the Vieux Port to see what all the fuss was about. The Vieux Port was surprising lively. The evening was really hot and windy so it was nice to get out of the house. By the look of the port, a lot of other people had the same idea.  It was great to see families and friends all out strolling along the waterfront and enjoying the warm summer night.

The restaurants were full of people and the Bar Central had a guy singing and playing guitar. He was looking pretty popular since everyone was singing along with him.

The summer market consisted of artisans selling their goods (soaps, toys, clothes, shoes, jewelry, art, etc.) and, of course, delicious food. It was all very nice and there was certainly a lot to choose from.

I stopped and got some Barbe a Papa (cotton candy) and boy was I in heaven. I hadn’t had cotton candy in years!

All in all it was a good night even though we weren’t able to stay to long due to having to walk back home (it’s about an hour’s walk to the port).

The summer nightly market runs from June 24-August 28 and starts at 8:00pm. Chances are I will make it there again several more times. The cotton candy will be calling me soon and I need to do some serious shopping!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 29, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

