La Cigale

These little guys signal to the south of France that summer has arrived. All day long you hear thousands of them singing to you. Then once the sun goes down it is strangely quiet.

I love to wake to the sound of their music and on the weekends sit and listen to them while I have my morning coffee. You can find replicas of them in nearly every boutique and outdoor market. The French are very proud of them. You can tell by all the Cigale replicas are around people’s houses.

I captured this little guy while in the medieval village of Le Castellet. I have been listening to these little guys sing for several weeks now, but this is the first time I have ever seen one. They hide in the trees and are easily disguised by their color.

I hope you enjoy their singing as much as I do!

La Cigale
Lots of Cigales
About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on July 1, 2011, in backyard videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

