Summer Storm = Stinky Me

Yesterday we had a terrific lightning and thunderstorm. Early in the morning hours I woke to a torrential downpour, blinding lightning and deafening thunder. It was so cool! I love that stuff. For the better part of the morning and afternoon this beautiful display of nature continued. Since it was pretty intense Dude decided to turn off the some of the breakers in the house just as an extra precaution in case we got nailed by lightning during the day.

Ok, by me.

In the evening, when we returned home, we switched back on the breakers for the oven, washing machine, TV, etc…, etc…, etc… I love The King and I, sue me. Everything worked fine and we were confidant no problems would arise since the storm had passed and we now had blue sky.

Towards midnight, off to bed we went.

The next morning I awoke and was ready to shower before my day at work. To my surprise there was no hot water. I mean none, zippo, zilch! I went and woke up Dude to ask him what the heck was going on. We turned on the breakers so why was the water ice cold?

He just looked at me like “Why the heck are you waking me up for that? Just take a cold shower prima donna!” Well there was no way that was gonna happen. Cool, swimming pool water is one thing, but an ice cold shower is another and I wasn’t having any of it.

So I went to check the breakers. Sure enough, the breaker to the hot water tank had not been switched back on. Boy, was I pissed! I switched it on, but it was never going to be ready in time (especially since it is not an “instant hot” one like some people have).

Guess what? I elected to NOT take a shower this morning. Yup, you heard me. No shower. It has been 24 hours since my last one and, believe you me, that is a long time in my mind!

I simply just got dressed and put my day-old, dirty hair in a pony and said “good enough”.

Unfortunately, I had to hit the hardware store and the rental car place before work. Sorry to all you people I passed by in those two stores. I really hope we don’t meet again because I don’t want you to remember me on a day like this.

To Dude, I am not sorry that you had to live with me all day. That’s your fault for the look you gave me this morning when I woke you up.

Luckily, at the office, there are not too many of us and no one sits next to me! If perfume was not invented it would be now, thanks to me.

Towards the end of the day, I had a visitor in the office. I tried to stay on one side of my desk while she explained her little gimmick to me on the other side. The whole 20 minutes she was there I kept thinking how I wish I would have had a shower that morning! Gosh, I didn’t even know she was coming. Touche to her, though, cuz she smelled like smoke so I guess we cancelled each other out.

Man, I can’t wait until I get home. First thing I’m doing, even before any food is served (I don’t want people’s appetites to turn and run), is I’m taking a nice, hot, long shower.

Boy, I can’t wait. Sheesh! The crazy things you take for granted when all of a sudden they’re not there anymore.

I, for one, would not make it in the middle ages. No way. Showers would have had to be invented or death would be swift and sudden. Let’s hope this doesn’t happen again. I just might have to boil some water on the stove and go for it, if it does!

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Super blog…and I can’t trace the links which led me to it…Alzheimers is creeping up on me…

    You’d have been fine in the medieval period….baths were all the go.
    It was the Renaissance / Council of Trent period which made people turn their back on the bath…all that flesh, you know… not conducive to religious thoughts…

    • Any time period would not be good without a hot bath or shower! I love the idea of fresh, clean, hot, running water and a bar of soap. Definitely, necessity is the mother hood of invention and those are a few inventions I am glad about!

  2. I too hate that ecky feeling when you can’t take a shower. Tell me about co-workers who don’t shower every day! There was thid guy at my old place, man! At least women can use perfume and get away with it!
    PS: one time, I ran out of hot water (not sure what happened but I suspect my girlfriend let the tap loose while showering) and my System D was too warm a saucepan full of water and put the whole thing in a bucket and off we go with a wash glove. Not too pleasant though…

Que pensez-vous?

