Buying Our First House in France (Part 3)- Another AHHHHH!

So we had to decide whether we were going to be in deep *S* with the house we really wanted, or pay the sellers 22 000 Euros and walk away with nothing. We chose what was behind door #1. With our signing day only 6 days away, the bank lady said we needed to go that day to the post office and mail our loan papers. In France these papers can only be accepted by the bank if they are sent through the post office. So we walked two blocks over and personally handed them to the man behind the counter, watched him stamp it and put it in the bin for lift off. We figured that it would be at the bank by the next day. Wrong again. Do you know that by Friday the bank was telling me that they couldn’t find the documents! Seriously, it had been two days since we mailed them and there was only two blocks between the two entities! What is wrong with this place!

Well, we ended up get an email from our notaire saying that our 12 July signing has been cancelled due to the fact that the bank couldn’t find our paperwork. Dang. Now what?

The next day was Saturday and do you know what happened on that Saturday? The bank lady emails me and says she has everything and is all set to go. Well, what the heck? Why could she not have told me that yesterday?

So I emailed the notaire to let her know that all was good and to tell me when we could do the stupid final signing. On Tuesday she emails me back and says the next available date is 25 July. Two weeks away! Are you kidding me! Get your butts in there tomorrow people, that’s what I say. Well, I didn’t really say that to her, but I was thinking it. Again with the waiting! I am not amused.

The two week interim…..

So for the next two weeks, since we had to wait around some more, Dude started doing his research on how he is going to fix that large crack in our house because there was no way we were gonna pay the price of that quote. He began searching around the net for some threaded rod that was 12 meters long and 30M in diameter. He wasn’t playing around. Go for the big guns and do it right!

I swear he worked on this thing forever! He couldn’t find the threaded rod in the size he wanted or in the diameter he wanted. After 4 days of research he came up with nothing.

He even researched on getting 3 or 4 pieces that he could hold together with couplings and still no luck! The problem was the diameter of 30M. He could find it in a smaller diameter, but we really needed it in a larger size. What kind of country is this? There are cracks in people’s houses everywhere. They had to have gotten their threaded rod from somewhere?! He started to call companies in the US and Canada and was getting ready to even call China direct.

Day after day he sat around and worked on getting three dumb items to fix the crack. All we need was some threaded rod (the right size), hex couplings and some bolts. This task was proving much harder than we ever imagined and boy was he is the worst mood ever, cussing up a storm and all. This project was taking up all his time and it was only for three items! What was the fix up for the rest of the house going to be like?

After multiple calls to his brother in the states, multiple calls to companies in the states, me doing shout outs to people on my social networking site and him yelling at stupid sites in French that say they have what you want and then you look on their site and they really don’t, he finally found a company in the states that had just what he needed and they had a distributor in The Netherlands.

He got a quote from them, but we ran into another problem. The tax and shipping was going to be huge since the threaded rod was so big and heavy. This was going to be really expensive. Shot down again.

Then, he finally found what he was looking for and it was smack dap in France. We set out to order it and guess what, it worked! He was able to order 4 pieces of threaded rod and the bolts. Miraculously he was able to find the hex couplings through another vendor. We were all set and even found this really cool tie that will be going on the outside of the house. Real decorative and all. Here is it:

Woowee, and just in time for the RDV to sign for the house. It looked as if we were finally on our way.

All that time and energy mainly for this one item:

Next stop, 25 July. To be continued……

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on July 30, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Are you saying there is a part 4? It got worse than this ? You guys got nerves of steel. You ve experienced the worst of France:red tape, slow mail delivéry, people in charge who dont care. Welcome to our country!

  2. Hi,
    Very Interesting. I did leave a comment for you on SFN website re this…but I only was able to source a company in the US ….I thought the costs of importing may be prohibative.
    Can you give me the contact details of the place that supplied your rod and wrought iron end pieces ? I will have to do something like this myself in 2012/ 13….so I am very interested. Also what were you quoted to have the work done…and would you have got the nice wrought iron style this way ?

    • Hi Hillary,

      We had to tie together 12 meters and we had a quote of 2500 Euros just to put the rod in but that didn’t included drywallling or filling in the holes. That was just to throw the rod in and screw on the two bolts! We actually found the companies we purchased everything from in France. Because we used 30mm diameter threaded rod we ended up having to get the nuts from somewhere else and the wrought iron cle from yet another company. I doubt that style of cle was part of the quote. I think they would have just bolted the two ends and called it a day! In the end, we got all the materials from 3 different sources. I will look through my receipts tonight and send you the names and websites of where we got them. I will reply to you on the SFN comment you sent to me.

      Ashley

  3. Thanks very much for taking the trouble…it’s bound to come in useful.

    • Hi Hilary-No problem! Dude was able to find everything and I already sent all the info to your post on SFN. Let me know if you get it ok. I hope it all works out for you. I would like to hear about your job and see some photos!

Que pensez-vous?

