Flowers and Sunset

Yesterday morning when I arrived at the house I took a look around the garden to take an assessment of what we will be doing with that area. The house has been empty for a long time and consequently the garden as well as the house, have not been taken care of. Fortunately, it rains a pretty fair amount where the house is located so the trees are thriving. It is absolutely gorgeous and I can’t wait to get it all cleaned up and put a fountain and table and chairs out there and enjoy a nice lunch or dinner.

There are only trees and weeds in the garden. Looking around I saw no flowers. Then over by the water spout I spotted a tiny bush with some little pink flowers on it. That was it. No other flowers existed in the sea of green that is the garden. I took a photo of them since they happen to be the only ones I own!

I am not a gardener. I love gardens, but I am one of those people who would gladly pay to have someone else take care of it. I will just enjoy the beauty of them every day, thank you very much. It isn’t the work of the garden that bothers me, it’s the fact that I can’t make anything grow. I just don’t have a green thumb. I know absolutely nothing about plants and flowers. They wither at the sight of me. My Christmas tree dies before Christmas, for goodness sake!

So, since this little area of flowers has managed to take care of itself for so long, I think we are gonna be best friends 🙂  I was singing “ Mary, Mary, quite contrary” for most of the day.

Towards evening time we got a lovely view of the sunset out of the kitchen window. It was the first one I had seen while in the house. Things were shaping up nicely. After all that we had been through with this house I was happy to have healthy flowers and a nice sunset!

As Dude and I started to leave for the night, I went down to the car to put our things away. In doing so I passed by my little flowers and guess what?? They were all shriveled up and dead! I couldn’t believe it! They had been here all this time minding their own business and then I came along and took a photo and they died! I swear I never touched them!

I called to Dude and told him about the flowers. I was really upset.

He came and took one look at them and said, “You’re a dork. They go to sleep and night and in the morning they will open up again, you’ll see.”  Said it just like that, he did. Then he went back into the house.

I said, “Are you sure? They look dead”, in my sad voice (cuz I REALLY was worried)

He yelled back, “Yes, I’m sure. Just wait and see.”

I followed after him and cried, “I don’t believe you. I think they’re dead”.

“NO THEY’RE NOT! Will you just wait until tomorrow?! You’ll see.”

Tomorrow morning…..

When we got to the house and opened the gate, guess what?? There they were. My cute little pink flowers looking exactly like they did yesterday morning and just like Dude had said. Boy was I relieved.

Like I said, I can’t make anything grow and I know nothing about plants or flowers. Good thing I got Dude (who is more like a dudette since he strangely knows about flowers that go to sleep at night). If he hadn’t had a clue, I would have had a sleepless night, I tell you.

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on July 31, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You can’t possibly be worse than me at plants and flowers! Luckily my girlfriend has a green thumb and shé chose plants a dummy like me can see to . Remember also to grow plants that are frost Hardy! Bamboos grow Well out here and so do eucalyptus trees. And lavender of course.Nothing to do just water. I am proud i managéd to grow banana trees and saved them after it got to minus 10C in january (16F for those at odds with metric)! Laurel bushes (laurier rose) Will grow Well and neéd no water.tu auras bientôt la main verte!

    • I have Bamboo, as well and they are thriving. I love it. I have a whole row that blocks the view of my neighbors house so that is cool. Good to know about frost hardy plants. I had no idea. Before getting anything else for the garden (if we do) I will be sure to ask you to ask your girlfriend for advice for me!

  2. I myself am surprised I am able at all to grow things at all in my garden. Bamboos are cool because they grow so quickly but I heard the roots take up all the space and it s hard to grow anything else close by. Tell me about blocking unwanted views!Even the english lawn I got with the house has survived two winters. It’s about trials and errors and although gardening is close to a national hobby, a lot of people still want to learn.If you live close to seaside, you’ll have less problems with frost!

Que pensez-vous?

