Whistle While You Work

Because the good old fashion elbow grease was working the best on the glue, Dude thought he would just go ahead and buy a bigger scraper and see how that worked. While he was trying that out, Tinki and I set out to chisel away the glue on the bottom portion of the walls of the first story staircase.

The old owners had put in wooden base molding (that’s actually quite nice and so we kept it) on the staircase. Once we removed those and peeled off the wallpaper, you guessed it, we had glue. I think these guys owned the local glue factory or something cuz we just keep finding it EVERYWHERE! I’m getting really afraid to look behind anything now!

This was, of course, another whole day’s worth of work. The chiseling tools are pretty small, but anything bigger just didn’t seem to work. The smaller the chisel, the more pressure could be applied to the surface and therefore the better we could scrape the glue. I sure was glad that Tinki came to help this day because the peeling off of the paper and the chiseling of the glue would have been too much for just me. She also happened to bring her IPod so we finally got some groovy music to work to.

Meanwhile, Dude was upstairs with his new scraper, but he found that he couldn’t apply enough pressure to it because the end was not heavy enough. What does Mr. Handy do? He modifies the scraper, of course! Folks, you will never see a tool like this in your life cuz it’s home made. You gotta love handy and creative men!

He decided to take the iron “clee” that we will be using to shore up our large crack in the side exterior wall of the house and use that to give the scraper some front-end weight. And why not?! It was just sitting around waiting to hold the house together and not doing its job so he found another use for it. He has aptly named it “The Clee Scraper”. If it works maybe we could market it as the scraper with style!

As the day came to an end, I have to be somewhat happy that Tinki and I actually finished the staircase. It’s nice to say that we had a successful day with SOMETHING that we did.

I can’t say the same was true for Dude. Like everything else he has tried, the “Clee Scraper” was not a success. I guess we won’t be marketing it after all. Dude ended up coming downstairs to make holes in the walls to see what was behind them. I wasn’t too thrilled about that because I was sure there was nothing behind them but glue!

What he ended up finding was a bunch of tiny pebbles and some dirt that was holding it together! What the heck! We hadn’t seen this before. I now had a house made of dirt?! With his new find we now had another concern. What were we going to do to fix this??

So now we have to do some more online research to figure out how to patch a wall that is made with pebbles and dirt. I really hope someone out there has this same problem cuz we have no idea what do with the mess he just made. I think I liked it better when I didn’t know what was behind the walls.

Actually, glue might have been a welcomed surprise over this. At least with the stuff they used, we would have been sure that the house was gonna hold together!

Good thing no seismic activity has occurred in our area. Well, as least that is what we were told. Let’s hope someone wasn’t lying to us.

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The last major earthquake in Provence occurred in 1909 in Lambesc.It is still is thé biggest éver recorded in France’s’history so hopefully we got some slack time till the next one.I think you will be OK! 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

