Framing Is Not Fun

Today was the day we were going to tackle the framing for the drywall in the master bedroom. This room was going to be the most work since we had to frame two walls, one of which has a large window.

Before beginning, however, Dude wanted to take the remaining 10 pieces of drywall that we had left in the garage the day before and take them up to the third story to get them out of the way. I was definitely not looking forward to that since the second flight of stairs is a little steeper than the first flight and the doorway is shorter, as well.

Off we went carrying each piece one at a time. This took a while. Here’s how it looked.

Now, I believe, I can call myself Wonder Woman, but only because I wonder how the heck I was able to help him get that stuff up there!

Now it was time for the framing. We got all the metal studs and the rails we needed, plus got all our tools; screws, anchors and nails, drills, the Metabo (yes-we were able to find something to use it for), measuring tape and level. One tool eluded us, though. The tin snips. I had no idea what the heck these were, but Dude told me to go and find them anyway.

“I don’t know what they look like”, I said.

“You know, TIN SNIPS”, yelling at my like that was gonna suddenly enlighten me on what the heck these were.

“Dude, I don’t know what you are talking about. You have to explain to me what they look like or how am I going to find them?”

“Oh, come on! They have yellow handles on them”.

Cool, thanks. That helps tremendously. So off I went searching for something with yellow handles. I went hunting around the tools and after what seemed like a lifetime found my little, yellow-handled tool.

“Here”, I said, “Found them”.

“Those aren’t it. Those are the wire cutters”, he said.

Dang it! I went back to the tools for some more hunting. Luckily I found another tool with yellow handles. Back upstairs I went.

“Here”, I said, “Are these it?”

“No, those are pliers”.

“Dude, can you just come look for them cuz this is gonna take too long. I seriously don’t know what you’re talking about.”

Off he went and guess what?? He couldn’t find them either! We must have looked around for those things for like two hours, no kidding. He was so pissed. The problem is that we just have stuff everywhere and it is making it really difficult to work and find things we need.

After our hunting trip that lasted FOREVER, Dude finally found the tin snips.

We started framing the outer wall of the master bedroom. On this wall we also hung some orange sheets of insulation, but needed to leave a small space between the insulation and the wall so that the wall could breathe properly. There are a lot of moisture issues with the wall.

I swear this framing business is a bunch of hog wash! I totally know what I DON”T want to do in my next life. It took us into really late in the evening before we finished and with all the loud drilling and clanging of the metal studs and rails, we probably are already on our neighbor’s hate mail list.

Framing for drywall takes entirely too much time. All the measuring of the studs and rails and walls, the drilling of every single hole to put the screws in, the anchoring of some screws, the custom cutting of the studs and rails before hanging them so they fit onto the wall, the screws that don’t work and you have to keep working at it to get them to hold the metal studs and rails together because they are not well made,

(by the way, don’t buy these screws, they’re stupid and don’t work well)

the fact that you have to be extra careful or you’re bound to cut your hands on the metal, you have to use three different drills, five different screws, two different levels, a couple of measuring tapes, pencils, markers (so you know where to drill and where you need to put all the electrical stuff later on) and on, and on, and on. By the end of the day, Dude was super frustrated cuz this was not going well. I was taking us entirely too long.

I, on the other hand, thought we were doing well and was completely oblivious to his point since I had never done this before, so I was feeling pretty good about the day. He sure was working hard to burst my bubble and bring me down to his level of feeling crappy. I was just glad that we finished the framing in the one whole room! Yaaay us!

He had a point, though, we still had a lot more to do and our moving day was getting ever so closer.

Guess what we got to look forward to the next day??? More framing. Yuck.

 

If you want to see more photos of our framing extravaganza , they appear on Flickr. To get there just click on the “More Photos” option under Photos on Flickr.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on August 20, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Que pensez-vous?

