Moving Day

Well, we rented a truck to finally move all of our stuff into the new house. Both Dude and I wished we would have had a few more weeks to accomplish more things, but it was not in the cards for us.

As a result we are going to be living in a construction zone for some time.

The day we rented the truck started of just fine, but then we found out that someone else in our building was moving out the same day and their truck blocked the front entrance. We had to park a ways away and make a trek to the truck. (We also got a late start-not my fault!) It was only Dude, myself and Tinki since we are such DIY-ers and can’t bear to pay for anything if we don’t have to!

The boxes weren’t too bad, it was the fridge, washing machine and stove that gave us some problems since the truck we rented didn’t have a lift gate and was missing the ramp. Boy, were we upset about that. We actually went to the rental place three weeks ahead of time to get a truck with a lift gate or ramp and what do these guys give us? Nothing, that’s what. Dude and I were sweating bullets cuz the back of the truck was around 5 feet high and with just us, it was gonna be a chore. Oh well, we had no choice but to deal and guess what? We actually did it. We lifted the fridge, washing machine, oven and some heavy furniture into that thing. I’m not saying it was easy, but we did do it.

It took us nearly three days to load the truck, drive to the house, unload the truck and get back to the apartment. I had to call the rental place cuz we weren’t able to take the truck back by closing on the second day. They were super nice about it. I’m just glad no one was waiting for it!

Having to take the truck back the next morning was a difficulty I hadn’t planned on. That was the day we were suppose to meet the owners of the apartment we were leaving to do the walk through and give back the keys. Our rendez-vous was at 10am and so we had to have the truck back at 9am. We rushed home that night and stayed up until past midnight boxing up some last minute stuff that wouldn’t fit in the truck and cleaned the apartment.

Then we over slept cuz we were so dang tired from the move and that made us late to turn the truck in which in turn practically made us late for the walk through. We made it back to the apartment just in time!

I have to say that we had some of the nicest apartment owners imaginable. The dad and mom of the owners of the apartment live about 10 minutes from us and they watch over everything since the owners live in Paris. The mom and dad were super to us and the dad is the most adorable person you could ever meet. I would love to have him as a grandpa. These guys never bothered us while we were there. They only told us in the beginning to ask for anything that we might need and they would help us out. When they found out that we had come from the states and all our stuff wouldn’t arrive for a couple of months, they gave us plates, silverware, cups and a microwave to use. How cool, huh??

When they came over for the final walk through, they told us how much they appreciated us renting from them and thanked us a million times for keeping the apartment so neat. The dad just wanted to chat the morning away. He asked for our new address and said he had friends not far from our new place and if they could call sometime to come by and see us. We, of course, said yes and meant it. They’re very lovely people and it would be nice to keep in touch with them.

After the walk through, Dude, Tinki and I all went to my office. I had been away for three days with no access to phone or email and needed to get some work done. I couldn’t believe it! Everyone and their mother were after me for something or other. I had put my “Out of Office” assistant on to let everyone know that I wouldn’t be available, but that didn’t stop them from hounding me.

My goodness! These guys just got back from three plus weeks of vacation (I had to wait for them) and they were hounding me cuz I was gone for three days! I wasn’t even on vacation, dang it!

I had so much work to catch up on that I didn’t finish until 9pm that night. As a result, it was too late to make the drive to the house. It still needed to be cleaned up from all the drywall dust before we could sleep there so do you know what happened? We spent the night at my office! Yup! We three rolled out the sleeping bags we had used the night before (to sleep at the apartment since all our beds were at the new house) and we sleep on my office floor.

I have to tell you that I don’t highly recommend that. I was really uncomfortable since the floor is quite hard and the cleaning people of the building arrived at 5am to clean the place and woke us up! One thing that did work out, however, is the fact that my office has a coffee maker so I at least I got a hot cup o’ joe! Since I was already at work, I did some work for the day and then we packed up around 1pm and took off for the house.

Once there, we had to clean and get somewhat organized. We were up until 5am (again) just so we could be comfortable. I have to say, that I am starting to get sick. For real sick. We’ve just been doing way too much and we have so far to go still.

For now, all three of us are in one room and it also happens to be doubling as the living room, dining room and kitchen (since the fridge is in there with us). Hopefully we can have this wrapped up soon. I kind of feel like we are living in a hotel since my clothes are still in a suitcase and we don’t have the oven set up and there is no stove. It’s cold food for now.

We let’s see what we can accomplish tomorrow. Hopefully, we can get a little more organized!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on completing your relocation from your apartment to your new house. I know the move is far from over so will just send you my best wishes.

    • Thank you Michel. I appreciate your thoughtfulness (and the fact that you read my blog!). We still have some tough months ahead. I really hope to take some time off and get back to enjoying this country. I am dying to have a road trip especially since the weather is cooling down. I would love to take some time to write about other things going on, but this house just dominates right now. Well, as the French say, on verra 🙂

  2. First time i have heard SUCH a story of sleeping over at thé workplace. I often joke about it with my boss when I get too busy but it is thé worst thing that can happen.
    I think there is only so much you can do in SUCH a short time and you have accomplished quite a bit! Bon courage pour la suite!

    • Yup-that sleeping over at the office was something else! Unfortunately, it gave Dude an idea and now he wants to have us sleep at the office at least once a week to save us money on gas (since we live so far away). I am certainly not happy about that, but in the end he could win on this one! On verra 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

