Getting There Slowly But Surely

We got set up by the second day although it isn’t the most ideal situation. At least we have some clean areas of the house to be in. We have one bathroom that is in semi-working order and the other has a usable shower so at least we aren’t killin’ the neighbors with workout B.O.

Tinki keeps complaining that Dude snores and it’s keeping her awake. I swear her room better be the first one ready or she’s gonna lose it soon.

We were able to buy a little hot plate so now we kind of have a make shift stove. It’s been working out pretty well, as long as we don’t use any other appliances at the same time were good. Dude said that we would fry the electrical if we did. Ok-I think I’m able to follow that rule (if not you guys will know about it 🙂 ).

Dude was also able to set up the internet, phone and T.V. We can now get back to our normal lives of ignoring each other. This works well when you have a teenager in the home. I tell you, give my kid a computer and I won’t see or hear from her all day! At least for now she isn’t complaining that we dragged her unhappy butt to France. Like I said, that room of hers better be done soon before she comes out of hibernation!

Along with the camping stove we got the fridge all plugged in so we could finally go the market and get some food. Oh man, were we ever happy to be able to have some food around. The first night was tough, but I found an Asian restaurant in town and we lived it up.

Dude is still on me about the Ikea kitchen. Dang I don’t want that! He’s trying to get me to make a trip there “just to look”. Please. I know all about that. What a ploy! He thinks I’m going to leave that place just loving something. What I’m worried about is leaving the place having bought something and then going home and throwing up cuz I just spent a ton of my hard earned money on something I didn’ t really want and now my 1700’s house has a too modern kitchen it. Ahhh!

I hate not having a kitchen, but at least an empty one didn’t cost me anything.

The other thing we need to figure out is the wiring. The living room has no electrical and no phone so right now we are System-D’ing it. We have run power strips all over the house and they are hooked into other power strips or extension cords. Then into the power strips we have tri-taps so we can plug even more stuff in. We have the television, the cable t.v, a transformer, a fan, the washing machine and the microwave all plugged into the same strip and the cord runs from our bedroom, through the hallway, into the kitchen and then out into the living room. We’ve had to tape everything down so that we don’t trip over anything. Here again, we have to be careful what we use at the same time.

Then on the other side of the kitchen we have the camping stove, blender and coffee maker plugged into one power strip. We started out with the microwave on the table, but it took up too much room so we moved it to the other side of the kitchen. The table is used not for eating, but for preparing food so we needed a little extra room there.

Then we have another power strip that is running across the kitchen and into the living room for the fridge, the internet, my office phone, our house phone, all our computers, our charges for our phones and we also use this power strip for the vacuum cleaner.

I am not exactly sure that this is code worthy legal in France, but then again, since we are in France we could actually be bordering on legal. All I know is that if the NEC people in the states saw the get-up we had going here, they would shut us down and fine us. I guess it’s a good thing we aren’t in the states now isn’t it!

I think tomorrow we might take it outside for a while. The weather has been really nice the last couple of days and the garden needs some clean up. It will be nice to get out and get some fresh air and still feel like we are accomplishing something.

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 9, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Can you send me your e-mail again….

  2. Happy to see you are making progress. The kitchen would have been my first order of business, couldn’t live with just a hot plate. Anyway, have a good day and weekend.

    • As always, thank you for the well wishes. They are much appreciated! My husband says the same thing! He really wants the kitchen done. Luckily for me (and unlucky for the rest of the family) I am not a cook and hate being in the kitchen. I guess that’s why I am willing to live camping style for a while longer 🙂 I do have to say that the feeling of being really overwhelmed has started to catch up with me. I feel like this job is never going to be finished! I suppose it will be like my pregnancies-nine months of endless waiting and then a few years later you hardly even remember going through those nine months. At least, I hope it will be like that.
      When you and your wife are back in France for a visit, please let me know. I would love to meet you and see your lovely home. By the pictures I have seen, jealousy has already crept in!
      Have a very nice weekend, too 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

