My French Life – 13 September 2011

The great folks over at Ma Vie Française/My French Life invited me to be a contributor on their website. I took a look around and really liked what I saw. I’m super excited to be part of this terrific site. My ramblings about all things French will be featured around once a month there and today was my first time. Yay me!

They have a host of contributors that write about anything French/Francophile including art, food, and traveling.

Please stop by and take a look and while you’re there take some time to browse the site and check out some of the other posts and contributors and tell me what you think. I always enjoy hearing from ya’ll.

Here’s the link to this month’s contribution by moi…

http://myfrenchlife.org/2011/09/13/american-city-girl-turns-french-country-girl/

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 13, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I liked your guest post on My French Life. We had a number of criteria set when we looked for houses and wife Shirley had two that were really important to her: wanted to be in a village with commercial services like a boulangerie, cafe, boucherie open all year long and no fixer uppers. I took her to see a lot of them some of which I thought had great potential but she had Peter Mayle’s book A Year In Provence and she didn’t want to replicate that experience. Keep up your courage with your renovations.

    • Ha Ha-You crack me up with the Peter Mayle book! I own the book (it happens to be one of my favorites) and I have read it many times. I never thought it would happen to me since we were doing our own work and not relying on any one else! I guess I was wrong 😦 Even with two very hard workers (and that’s the truth) things just take forever to get done. I do agree with your wife on the commercial services, though. Even though we don’t have a large town near by us, we do have a boulangerie, cafe, and boucherie open all year long. The boulangerie is even open on Sundays in the summer. We also have a florist, some restaurants and a post office that is open on Saturday morning! The great thing is that all these places are located on the one main street we have so the rest of the town is really quiet.

  2. Congrats on your promotion! My french Life is a very good site which I have visitéd a few times. You deserve it!

    • Thanks very much:) Now I have no time on my hands. I can’t manage to write as often as I would like on my own site and now I’ve gone and said I would commit to another one! Boy, I need to be put on meds! Something that helps me make better decisions!

  3. I would not worry about this new commitment as you write with great ease and you never seem to run out of fuel!

Que pensez-vous?

