Love Thy Neighbor

When you enter our property through the front gate, the first thing you see is the garden to the right. In order to get to the front door of the main house one needs to pass by the garden, the apartment, the garage door and then the main front door is after that on the right. It is located all the way at the back of the property next to the stone wall that surrounds us.

Now be patient, there is a reason for all this description. You need to be able to visualize the situation here.

When one stands by the front door, looking at the stone wall, the door is on the right, the shed is on the left and we have neighbors who have a balcony just over the stone wall. It is elevated to about our second story level and they are able to see into our yard (we are going to be taking care of that one as soon as we can).

Anyway, these guys are out on their balcony for breakfast, lunch and dinner and all the snacks in between. They are seriously eating all the dang time! One constantly hears their conversations and the clanging of dishes. I’m not even sure they work.

I don’t have a real problem with them enjoying their little balcony. Heck, it’s super nice outside at the moment and we are surrounded by such lovely trees. What I do mind, however, is that every morning after they finish breakfast they throw their leftover food (bread, cheese, pieces of sandwiches) onto the roof of our shed and in our yard by the front door! Yes, you read right! Can you believe it?!  What a bunch of inconsiderate jerks!!

Now, I understand that in the past (for a long time) no one lived here and they wanted to feed their cats or the birds or whatever, but now they know that we have moved in and they have continued on with the tradition. It’s driving me absolutely batty especially since it was just a little while ago that Dude and I worked for a couple of days to make our garden nice. They saw us out there working, too.

I don’t want to cause any issues with these guys, but what they’re doing is just plain rude! I can’t believe anyone would throw crap in their neighbor’s yard! They can just leave that crap on their own balcony for the cats and birds, dang it.

I’m not even sure if it’s the adults or the kids or grandkids or what, but I wish I had a camera to catch them in the act so I could confront them. The thing is, when I look out my kitchen window every day I see the roof of the shed and all this food on it and then I walk out my front door and there’s food right in front of me and on the ground.

Good grief this really pisses me off! One of these days I am gonna get so mad that I’ll pick up some of their left over crap laying in my yard and I’m gonna chuck it right back up onto their balcony. I’m just waiting for the right moment and “bam” there it goes. I guess I’m just waiting to catch them in the act first so I know exactly who it is.

It would be different if it were a few crumbs and the birds ate it right away, but it’s not and they don’t. If Dude didn’t go around and pick it up all the time, that stuff would stay there for days! That’s so gross and it causes flies to come around and everything.

Can you guys tell that I’m totally pissed off about this? What would you do in my shoes? Like I said, we just moved in and I have to live next to these people for a long time. I don’t want to create any issues and then we have an ongoing feud forever and then I find whole meals and throw up in my yard.

I also don’t want to deal with this day after day after day. I have a feeling that this is just going to be a continuous thing and it needs to stop. If anyone has any suggestions on how to get them to stop and to keep the peace, as well, I’m all for it.

I plan on paving the area between the shed and the front door and putting a little fountain and a nice table and chairs there by next spring. I don’t want it to be all dirty with my neighbor’s food!

Ahhh! I’m really frustrated….

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. If I was you Ashley, I would gather up as much of the crap that you can over the course of a week. Sunday lunch time take it round to their place, knock on the door, and say “thanks but no thanks, we can feed ourselves” and then dump it on the floor in front of them. How does that sound for a plan?

    • Ha! That is brilliant and awesome at the same time! It would satisfy my frustration, but unfortunately begin a battle that would probably last for an eternity. I totally love it, though. I can tell you feel my pain 🙂

  2. Sure do, if I was there on my own I would do exactly what I suggested, if there is one more thing I hate about the French (apart from there idea of safe wiring), it’s there ignorance of other people. If you were French yourselves they wouldn’t be doing it. But I can see where you are coming from. Love thy neighbor “if you have to”.

  3. Before it escalates and gets dirty, I suggest you talk to them and explain that they watch what they do with their rubbish. Perhaps your house was not lived in for a while until you bought it and they have caught some bad habits as it is so convenient for them. Why you are describing is just not acceptable. If you are not keen on talking (which can be embarassing when it’s about telling people what hygiene is about), you may write them a note which may prevent you from losing your temper (I would have by now!). Until you don’t tell them, they’ll assume all is well. It’s best to take action at the onset than wait till enough’s enough! Bonne chance!
    PS: I don’t think it has to do with being French or not. It’s about stupidity and this one has no nationality.

    • I totally agree that this in not a “French” thing. It’s just plain ridiculous it what it is. I can’t believe anyone could be so rude to do that! I totally agree with you that if I don’t speak to them they will think it is ok with us. I hope all goes well and either way, everyone will here about it!

Que pensez-vous?

