Musical Branches

A few weekends back Dude and I cleaned up the garden. In doing so we kind of created a big mess that we had to leave for the trash men. Most of that trash we were able to put into trash bags and set out on the curb, but some of it was a bunch of leaves and branches from when Dude gave our fir trees their haircuts. Those we tied up into bundles and left them on the side of the yard.

That night we set one of the bundles out as an experiment to see if the trash man would pick it up. To our surprise, the next morning we checked and guess what?? The trash man actually picked it up! This was great news for us cuz we had 4 more large bundles to put out there.

So the next night we set the rest of the bundles out there with the trash. Guess what?? The trash man didn’t bother with picking them up so we still had 4 bundles sitting out front. Now the best part is that our house sits back from the main road so we actually put them in front of our neighbor’s house. Boy were we surprised when we left for an outing the next day and those huge bundles were still sitting there. I felt so bad cuz I can just imagine our neighbors leaving the next morning going “What the heck is all this crap at my front door?” It happened to be a Saturday morning, too, when everyone and their mother came to town due to the open market. I told Dude that he had better bring them in cuz the next day was Sunday and the trash man for sure wouldn’t be picking them up.

Well, Dude forgot. So the next day when leaving the house what did we see?? Those 4 bundles sitting in front of our neighbor’s house! Boy was I embarrassed!

Dude said he was just going to leave them there cuz the next day was trash pick-up and the trash men would collect them this time. Do you know what?? They didn’t.

Now we were running a record for leaving trash in front of our neighbor’s house. The bundles were pretty noticeable, too!  That night Dude and I looked around the neighborhood to see where the trash cans were to put your garden trash. There had to be something. We weren’t the only ones who had a garden. In fact, there are other people in town who have even bigger yards than us. What the heck do they do with their stuff??

So we were destined to leave it out there again in hopes that the trash man would “have room” in his truck this time.

Tuesday morning rolled around and you got it, the big 4 bundles were still there! I can’t believe that these guys would just leave it lying around especially after they took the first bundle! I also can’t believe we didn’t get a nasty letter from our neighbors! They just let that stuff stay there like it was a Christmas decoration or something.

Dude had the bright idea that maybe Thursday was the day that the trash man picked up garden trash since it was a Thursday that they happened to pick up our one bundle. So he said, “Let’s just leave it out there for the Thursday pick-up. That should do it.”

Well I guess our neighbors would have to live with their side walk decoration for a couple of more days.

Well today, Friday morning, that dang stuff was still littering the streets! Those dumb trash men just can’t get their act together. I’m surprised that all the birds in town hadn’t made nest out of it! So tonight Dude said to me, “Come on. There is a large city trash can on the other side of town. We’re gonna go put it in there.” So there we were, Dude walking down the street with two large bundles and I with a sack of recycle stuff.

The trash cans happen to be by some apartments and Dude didn’t want anyone to see us so he decides to walk around the back of the building. The problem is that there is a small path back there and on one side there is a metal fence and on the other there is a stairwell. Dude, in his “let’s be real quiet like” mode, gets himself hooked up between the fence and the stairwell and he is making all kinds of racket. He’s pretty much playing music all down the side of the fence with those bundles of branches. I, meanwhile, start busting up. I simply couldn’t contain myself and I just starting giggling which in turn, becomes full on laughing. It’s really late and here we are trying to be quiet and not draw attention to ourselves and Dude is playing music with two large tree bundles and I am cracking up and trying not to drop my bag of recycled material (which would only create more noise).

We finally made it to the trash cans and got rid of two of our bundles. Back we went to retrieve our last two bundles and back we went through the small path behind the apartments. This time it was me that decided to play music on the fence! Good grief, no one hire us to be thieves cuz it just won’t happen!

Then right at the edge of the apartment complex, just before we could make the mad dash to the trash cans, there were all these people coming around the corner in the parking lot. Dude just drops the stuff in the bushes and takes off! I’m like, “What the heck! What are we doing?” Dude’s all, “People are coming! Leave it here and I will go back for it!”

There I go again, cracking up. We are such goof offs that it is ridiculous. Happy to say, all worked out and all the bundles are now in a trash can ready to be picked-up. Thank goodness! I can’t believe what we had to go through just to get rid of some branches. I will remember this for next time.

Then going back to our house guess who we saw?? Our neighbors coming out of their front door. We just walked on by and pretended not to notice that their Christmas decoration wasn’t there anymore. I think it worked!

 

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. For some reason even though our kids are grown and in their own homes, we still seem to collect a lot stuff that ultimately has to be dumped; sometimes more, much more than can fit in our own trash cans. So late at night on the evening before the trash guys, I sneak around the neighborhood like you and Dude and put stuff in my neighbor’s trash cans since I know they never fill them up, saves me having to sign up and pay for a larger trash can.

    • So glad for the confession. When we lived in the states we did the same thing! Now that we live in this little town it’s practically impossible since there are no “personal” trash cans outside of each person’s house. One simply leaves their black, tied-up, plastic bags out front for collection. Not to sanitary in my opinion with all the cats and dogs in the neighborhood but more importantly, no sharing 🙂

  2. Hi
    If you had one bag and the garbage collectors picked it up, then they were being “nice” and “forgiving” because it was one bag. All garden debris, clippings, branches and such must go to the dump for compost. Either you take it yourself, or some city halls offer a service that you must contact.

    • So good to know because I would have never figured that out! Come next fall, my neighbors might have had early Christmas decorations again! We probably would have trash man tested it for a few days just to see if the new year brought any progress 🙂

  3. Lol, just an idea, maybe it would have been easier just to have a small fire in the garden to burn it. But maybe the french have rules against that as well!

    • I so wanted to do that and was after Dude all day to make a huge bonfire. After all, we have a stone house. Can’t burn that! Dude was quick to point out all the huge and lovely trees in th yard and that if we lit up the fir tree branches we would set the whole garden on fire in an instant. Not too sure our neighbors would be comfortable with that! I really did try, though.

  4. Leaves, bundles of sticks and twigs belong to the community waste dump but noone bothers to drive the 10 km back and forth just to get rid of your cut lawn and dry leaves. So don’t feel bad for using the neighbor’s cans. As long as the garbage collection fee is not based on the weight you discard on a yearly basis, it is ok to do it now and then and besides you got other (more) urgent matters to attend!

    • I don’t think our collection is based on weight. I looked on our city website and they didn’t say anything about that so hopefully that’s not true. The local recycling place is not too far from us, but I wish that our town had a designated day to pick up garden stuff. That would be nice because I really don’t want to put it in my car! If I had a trailer it would be no problem, but some of our trees have sap and thorns and that just makes for a big mess! For now, we should be good. I think I will hold off on the next bit of gardening until all the leaves fall of the tree!

Que pensez-vous?

