Still Muddling Through

We woke early this morning to a terrific lightning and thunder storm which was followed by rain and wind. Well, even in sunny Provence it can happen. Unfortunately for us, we discovered very early in the morning that we have a roof leak. It happens to be in the one room that we’re all sharing and it is right next to Tinki’s bed.

She woke up thinking she was hearing someone’s fountain only to discover the drip, drip of water next to her head. Great, something else that now needs to be fixed before the next storm.

Dude went on the roof and discovered that some of the tiles are loose and there needs to be a bit of repair work done. That’s going to be a difficult job due to how high up the roof is and the fact that you can’t walk on the tiles or they’ll break. Now he has to figure out how he’s going to fix this problem.

On the bright side, it isn’t suppose to rain again tonight so we should be safe, but on the down side I saw today that there is another storm scheduled to blow in next Sunday. I don’t think our roof will be fixed by then so we might be setting buckets out to catch the cascade that might be coming our way. Well, I guess free drinking water is in my future.

Another thing to not be so happy about is the fact that we don’t have any heat, yet, in the house. Tonight is the first night we’re actually a bit cold and THAT I’m really not happy about. I’m putting it out there that I better have heat in this place soon (even before that roof leak is fixed) or Dude is not going to enjoy hearing me go ballistic.

We did, however, have an addition to our kitchen (no it’s not done, yet). We found our oven and brought it upstairs and enjoyed a real meal of frozen food that can be cooked in 20 minutes! That’s about the best we can do during the renovation and no kitchen to cook in. We have it propped up on a large box since we have no place for it at the moment.

It works though and I’m happy and so is Tinki cuz we can actually make some real food now when we get the chance instead of just cooking on the camping stove.

Nothing else in the house has really progressed. We’re still fooling around with drywall mud and finish and can’t seem to find a brand that will work really well. Dude must have drywalled, sanded, and re-drywalled, sanded and put on the finish coat, and sanded around 6 or 7 times in each room (and that is definitely no lie, folks). We’ve been working on this part of the project for several weeks now! It just won’t come together and now I’m getting bored. There is definitely no fun in drywall dust all over the house. Everything is covered in it. We try to keep the one room we are in closed off from the dust, but that stuff gets everywhere. I swear after Dude has sanded it looks like new snow on Christmas morning all over the floor. Then he’s sweeping and vacuuming and wiping everything down. This has gone on for weeks now!

I’m ready for something different and I know for sure he is, too. Even if we can get to the point of putting on the primer paint, I will be thrilled. At least it will be advancing. For now he is still working with the drywall and finish. He told me tonight that he still has to go over some of the walls cuz they’re not right. Ahhhh!

I have a fear that we will be living in the same room, without heat and collecting rain water for months to come. I’ll be ready for the nut house if that happens. House remodeling isn’t so bad when you don’t have to live in it, but it’s another ball of wax when you have to wake up and go to bed surrounded by an unfinished place.

I can’t say whether I am happy about it being Monday tomorrow and going to work (to get away from the remodel work) or if I am unhappy about it due to the fact that when I am at work the house isn’t getting finished. I hate dilemmas…

Well, time to go use my oven…..cuz now I can 🙂

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on September 18, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you are not having much fun Ashley. Nice cooker though. Can’t wait to see some photo’s of the finished rooms. (When you have some).

    • I can’t wait to take finished photos and post them because that would mean I’m done 🙂 And no, right now I am having trouble getting through this. I think it’s because I am at the “plateau” phase, which happens with just about everything in life. You know that phase were you just aren’t making any progress. Hopefully soon, though. We shall see…

  2. Last night in southern Provence was a lot cooler than before with lows just above 50F. I usually don”t need to heat till mid october and the weather should get warmer in coming days back to mid 70’s. But you may want to get a portable heater (called bain d’huile in french) for the time being as they are efficient to get some extra degrees. But it is urgent to fix the roof because we have been short of rainfalls lately and the weather may turn quite rainy some time soon. At least you got a cooker now. Hope you are not discouraged but fixing this house is quite an undertaking. Bon courage!

    • I couldn’t believe how cold it was the other night! I actually got sick and have been sick since Sunday night. With the wind and sudden temperature drop my allergies really kicked in and I have been miserable. Finally this afternoon the meds started to work and I am feeling better now. I also think it’s because the weather warmed up. I am glad to have the sun back and it’s a shame that I have to spend such a lovely day inside the office! I hope the weather holds for this weekend. We are going to look into getting a portable heater like you suggested. I don’t think I will make it through the next cold spell if not!

  3. I got one of these at work after thé heating system went down in january! Free gift of the building owner just in time before we threatened to kill him. They work great and are noise free. Tired of thé rentrée and all the deadlines. I need some sunshine and that’s’why I am glad I landed a job here and not Paris or Lyon when I returned from thé states!

    • I’ve persuaded Dude that we need to go and get one. We will be making a trip to the store on Thursday (that’s the soonest we can make it). Thank goodness it’s warmed up a bit, at least during the day. I’m glad I made it to Provence, too. I much prefer the sunshine to the clouds and rain. I consider myself lucky, even when the Mistrals are blowing! At least the sun is out and the sky is blue….

Que pensez-vous?

