What Idiot Did This?

When we bought our house, it came with some furniture, some of it great and some of it not so great. The not so great stuff either got chucked out the window and the bits and pieces taken to the dump or we put it out front for passer bys to take for free. The decent stuff we kept.

One of those pieces happened to be a nice, big, wooden, antique buffet. It has a really beautiful pattern etched in the doors and a gorgeous dark berry marble top. I loved this piece the minute I saw it. Of course I had to see beyond the junk the old owners had put on it, but never-the-less, one could tell it was a nice piece. They said they were leaving it because it was too big and too heavy to move. I consulted a few of my friends who confirmed that with old furniture, many  French families have taken to selling it with the house because their new styled houses or apartments are too small for the stuff and all the French are now into the more modern look.

From the outside, it was a gem to us.

When we acquired the house we started to move things around and really check out the furniture.  This is what we discovered inside my beautiful antique buffet.

 

 

What the heck were these guys thinking?? Do you see the wall paper in the background of the first two pictures? It’s exactly the same stuff! Why would anyone wall paper (and I mean these guys went all out on it) the inside of a beautiful piece such as this?

This is the same dang wallpaper that was like pulling teeth to get of the wall with the glue and left over residue and second layer and all that. I was so pissed that they would do this? Is there nothing in this house that doesn’t have glue and paper and crap on it that needs to be scrapped off?

Now we had another issue cuz there was no way I was gonna leave this ugly stuff in there. Dude was back to scraping because, as usual, when we tried to peel it off only the top layer came up and it left the bottom layer of paper with glue all stuck to the wood! This was going to be a more delicate situation that getting glue off of the walls. At least we could get the walls really wet so the paper and glue could be scrapped off easier. This was WOOD! Dude was wondering how to do this so that it would come off without warping the cabinet. Oh man, I was pissed! I should leave that in the present tense cuz I still am.

Ahhhhh! I’m so sick of stupidity when it comes to this house! It’s just as easy to do things right as it is to do things wrong when it comes to your house and furniture. So why don’t people just do it right??! I still can’t understand what would posses someone to go and mess up furniture like this especially in one of the most stupidest ways possible!

I keep trying to imagine what went through these people’s minds. Did they just start wallpapering their kitchen and have some extra left over and loved it so much they just had to use the rest? I just can’t come to a conclusion but it’s most likely because stupidity never makes sense.

I just can’t stop being mad because it took Dude around 2 to 3 hours to get this stuff off and it still looks terrible inside. He couldn’t get every last piece of glued on paper and he said he has to sand the rest. I just don’t want the piece to be wrecked beyond repair. That’s that part that makes me angry, not so much the work to fix it, but the fact that their lame brained idea could have potentially destroyed a nice piece of furniture. Now I don’t know about you, but I personally can’t go down to the local furniture store and pick up another identical piece. I don’t even know when this piece was made or where it was made for that matter.

So by that point Dude and I took to drinking. Yup, folks, we pulled out a bottle of wine and kicked back on the sauce. We had our not so fancy glasses (cuz those are still packed away), we drank in our not so fancy kitchen (cuz it’s still not finished) and we toasted to our not so fancy buffet (cuz the people that did this were idiots).

It seems like every time we turn around, we find something else crazy that these guys did with this place. I don’t even know why I’m surprised anymore. By now I guess I should be shocked if anything were done correctly, not the other way around!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 6, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow! It is extraordinary what people will do thinking that they are adding to the look of something. Like you, from the photo’s it looks a lovely piece of furniture, until you opened the doors. If I was Dude, I would go down to the hardware and ask them if they have got ant wallpaper stripper (This won’t harm the wood, but sanding may well do). Other than that, you could mix some wallpaper paste with water and sponge it on to the areas where the paper is most stubborn, leave it for a couple of minutes and it should come off quite easily. Good luck.

  2. This may bé as stupid as it sounds but if thé wallpaper and glue are too hard to come off, I would simply put a sticker over it. I méan those stickers that are imitations of wood patterns and come in a roll. You may find one with a tint close to that of your buffet. But I agrée, it is a shame to not bé able to showcase thé réal wood. First when I saw thé picture I thought they had removed thé back cover and it Was thé wallpaper showing! Good Luck to you. What a hassle! I wonder what kind of moron did that. It is hard to match such a level of idiocy.

    • Bernard-
      It’s funny that you commented on the fact that you thought the back was removed. Now that I look back at the photos, it sure does! That would have been really funny! We have some ideas (or I should say Dude does) and we shall see what happens. Thanks for your ideas. We might just need them.

Que pensez-vous?

