My Favorite View

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Sometimes I think it’s worth more than that. Especially from here. The Calanques that stretch between La Ciotat and Cassis has to be one of my favorite places to be. The view is both breathtaking and inspiring. I could stay all day. One of my first outings in France was here. I packed a lunch and my colleagues and I headed out to eat at, in my opinion, one of the best places for a view and picnic. It also happens to be free and you can stay as long as you like.

I can never get enough of this magnificent scenery. The color of the water is just amazing. So much so that it’s even hard to describe when my friends in The States ask me to. I can’t seem to find exactly the right words or description. I always end up telling them they just have to see it for themselves.

When I’m here, I feel so calm and tranquil. Something I have been lacking lately in my life!

I don’t hike here. I prefer to find a nice spot to rest and eat and just stare out at the water. Dude will testify that I would never leave if I didn’t have to.

Each time I go I remind myself that people come here on vacation, movies are filmed here, this is a place that only some will ever dream about seeing and never end up making it and I LIVE here. Gosh I’m so lucky. Being in this place helps me to remember that. Especially on those days when I’m feeling terrible and like nothing is ever going to go right.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Bon Voyage! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I envy you, these pictures are absolutely stunning. I can imagine myself being there and just drifting off in to my own little world.

  2. Beautiful pictures. I have not seen the calanques from your point of view and they are beautiful. We have taken a boat out so the view is entirely different. I am happy to see the two perspectives.

    • Michel-
      We’ll have to change it up a bit for next summer. I’ve never been out on a boat to see it from that perspective so I propose that you take the view from the top next time and I will rent the boat to see what it’s like from the sea view. Deal?

  3. Love it! We’ll be there in a few days. It’s one of the places, that whenever I take clients, they tell me it was their favorite day of the trip. We always get a small boat and explore several of them –with stops at some favorites for swimming. From that vantage point, the water is just so blue and so clear. You can see the pebbles on the bottom!

    • Wendy-
      I am so excited for next summer, of all things! Dude and I have discussed getting a small boat and seeing the sites from that point of view. I’m really excited and can’t wait to see the pebbles on the bottom! It’s definitely one of the best places to pass your time.

Que pensez-vous?

