Modify Your Tools As Needed

Dude and I are back on the job of scraping the glue off of the floors. Yes folks, we are still not finished with that nightmare. We’ve had to put it on the back burner up until now so we could accomplish some other things that needed to be done. We were also really sick of dealing with it and simply needed a break.

Now the time has come to get back to dealing with it. We started out a couple of days ago just using our little scrapers to get the job done. That wasn’t going to well because we still had too much to scrape off and it was just taking too long. At this rate, we were not going to finish until the New Year (no joke). So Dude set out to make some modifications to his tools.

I’ve got to hand it to the guy; he’s always looking for creative ways to make his life easier. He’ll keep trying over and over again until he gets it right. At this point we (I should say ‘he’) was getting desperate. We can constantly hear the clock ticking away and our days just flying by as this house doesn’t get finished. So now we have to concentrate and persevere and just get this done!

So today was the day of modifying the tools he has to find something that will work better and faster than the tiny scrapers we were using. While I continued to use the small scraper Dude went off and worked on some inventions. Each time he would make a new one, he would try it for a few minutes and then he would move on to a new invention to see if it would work better. Here are all the modifications he made in a day!

 

Milwaukee with a sawzaw blade and a scraper drill bit held together by a vise

Crowbar with a tungstein held together with a vise

Milwaukee with a sawzaw blade and a Cut-Fix metal grinder blade held together with a vise

Milwaukee with a sawzaw blade and the tungstein held together with a vise

The best one has been the good, old-fashion crowbar with a drill bit scraper that is held together by a couple of vises which double as handles. It seems to be working out okay. The master bedroom, the down stairs hallway and Tinki’s room are all done. The upstairs hallway and the library are on their way of being glue free, as well. I never thought I would love the look of plain concrete in the house, but believe me, after looking at that nasty glue for months, I practically want to kiss the newly uncovered concrete!

Dude should be finished with all the scraping on Saturday (tomorrow and Friday we have to be at the office so we’ll lose two days of work). He said that he’ll go over the floors with a sander and get the last little bit all nice and smooth and then we should be good to go. He also said that we’ve pretty much lost at least a month’s worth of working time to this stupid glue.

Maybe once it’s done, he’ll slow down on the cuss words! Nothing makes a man angrier than scraping glue off the floor. He told me that he felt by doing this that our talents were being wasted. Well I have to tell you that I don’t really have any talents so what I don’t have can’t be wasted, but I agree with what he says when it comes to him. His talent when it comes to all things construction is pretty much above anyone else I know (and I’m not saying this just cuz he’s my Dude). It really is true. He can do just about everything known to the construction world and make it look simply brilliant.

I really think that’s what he is waiting for, his bright moment after the darkness of the glue and mud!

P.S.- WARNING: I do not condone any off this and please don’t try this at home!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 12, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well! I have got to hand it to Dude for his perseverance. It sounds like he is a bit like me in that I have one phrase that I keep saying to myself when I am getting beaten by a job “never give up”, and I also think that it’s that frame of mind that will always keep us men on top 🙂 so-to-speak. Well done Dude! As long as something works, use it, that’s my motto. Just as well that Health and Safety aren’t involved though!!!!

    • Stephen-
      Health and Safety?? What’s that? Just kidding. Man, if those guys were to see us on a daily basis, look out! I can’t tell you how many times Dude has had to be creative on this job thanks to the French not having exactly what we need. I’m so glad he is creative! This house would have come to a major stand still by now, if not.

Que pensez-vous?

