Gripes

Scraping floors leaves me with a lot of time on my hands to think about things. So today, while finishing up the floor scraping, I started to think about two gripes that I have. I actually have more than two, but I tended to dwell on these ones for some reason today. Let’s just call me lame and you will when you finish reading.

It pretty much started with the fact that I wanted a snack before starting my work on the floors. I will do anything to get out of working a full shift and snacking is the way to do it. So I headed for the freezer cuz I had bought some delicious fruit popsicles and that was sounding pretty good. To my surprise, this is what I found when I opened the box…

Will someone tell me what the heck this bite size thing is?? I’m sorry, but I wanted a Popsicle, a WHOLE one. I didn’t bargain for one bite??!! How is this supposed to be satisfying? Well, I’m here to tell you that it’s not and that’s the reason why I have to eat the whole box to feel satisfied. Why do the French insist on making desserts that are just too small to give you any satisfaction? If the box would have contained 6 regular sized Popsicles, then I probably would have saved myself the calories, as well. I also would have had some Popsicles left over for another day to enjoy! So that’s my gripe number 1 for the day. I just wanted a great, satisfying snack to help me through drudgery and it was a fail.

The other thing that really got my goat was the fact that my local super market just up and decided that they weren’t going to sell my favorite cheese anymore. Yes, I know there are 365+ cheeses in France and I should be able to just pick another, right?? Wrong. I have a favorite cheese for a few things that I love in this world and there is just no substitute. Now, you all are gonna give me the big eye roll when I tell you that my favorite cheese is cheddar and I just have to have it. It’s the one type of cheese that I absolutely can’t live without. It’s the only thing great for:

  1. Tacos!!!- I have to have shredded, wonderful cheddar for topping off my tacos. There is no other cheese in this world that should be allowed to be on a taco. No way in heck!
  2. Chips!!!-The taste of melted cheddar cheese on my tortillas chips is the best ever! Like tacos, there is nothing that taste better a top my chips.
  3. Salad!!!-The taste of little square pieces of cheddar on my salad makes the best mix with my dressing. It just makes the flavor pop. I’ve tried others, but it was a no go. I have to have cheddar in my salad.
  4. Turkey Sandwiches!!!-I only want cheddar cheese to touch my turkey. There is just something about the turkey and cheddar mix that just makes the sandwich. If I don’t have cheddar then I’m not making a turkey sandwich and that’s final.
  5. Last but not least-All By Itself!!!- I happen to love to go into the fridge, grab the block of cheddar and just cut some slices to eat all by itself. It’s the best snack one could find. The sharper the cheddar, the better the snack.

Well, I was just pissed today because there I was thinking about all this cheese in the market to choose from and I want the one that they decided they weren’t going to sell anymore. Why couldn’t it have been one of the more stinky ones I always walk by?

Now, I have no idea how popsicles and cheddar both made it into my head for gripes today, but they did. Like I said, this scraping stuff leaves you a lot of time to think. I guess I must be simple minded since out of all the interesting things I could discuss with myself, I choose those two. This remodel must really be getting to me.

I guess I need to up my intelligence for tomorrow and think of something more beneficial. Does Hugh Jackman count??

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m familiar with the tiny French dessert concept as my wife’s a Magnum ice cream addict and we sometimes get the mini ones. I have to say I sort of admire the idea of keeping French junkfood on the small side instead of supersizing everything like a certain other country I know. However maybe for popsicles it takes more to get your fill.

    As for your cheese, I have to laugh at your list of blatantly American snack choices, but believe me I’m laughing with you and not at you: even with all the great food in France I still have to indulge in some of my old favorites at home, for example tacos like you mentioned (sorry I put shredded mozzarella), homemade guacamole and chips, pizza, burgers, etc. Let’s face it, there are just some foods the French never quite got the hang of!

    • Corey-
      Ha Ha! I love it “blatantly American”! That’s exactly what that was, wasn’t it??! I do have my moments when that little American comes out due to pent up frustrations. All those foods that the French never got the hang of are so awesome to make at home (when you have all the ingredients necessary) 🙂 As for the mini popsicles-yeah-I had to eat the whole box in order to get my fill. Those Magnum ice cream bars are the bomb and even for those I’m not sure the mini ones would do it for me! I guess on desserts I will have to continue to be “blatantly American” and stay in the mind frame of “go big or go home”! 🙂

  2. You can dream of Hugh Jackman if you need to Ashley, but it would have to be Angelina Jolie for me. I am sure you will find an alternative for your loss of cheese soon.

    • Stephen-
      Nope, I will take no alternative for cheddar! I have, however, found that it comes in slices so that will have to do for now. I just keep hoping that the Kilo of it is “seasonal” and maybe it will come back into season soon 🙂

  3. Being an English lass Cheddar was one of my big misses when we moved, but I found solace in Cantal, and after 7 years I now prefer it (but don’t tell the Cheddar)! Give it a try.

    • Hi Jacqui-
      Thanks for the tip! I would have never known about Cantal. Next stop I make to the market I will give it a whirl. I’ll let you know how the taste test turns out. By the way, the English sharp cheddar they were carrying in my local market was the bomb. I swear it was the best I had ever tasted. There isn’t anything in the states that could compare!

      • Cantal also comes in different flavour strengths, but be warned it is not as strong as a really good cheddar.

      • Jacqui-
        Well I just got back from a trip to my local market and no luck on the Cantal cheese. I’m not too disappointed though, as this is a small market that happens to be close by and the selection of everything is not too grand. I will, however, be making a trip to the big guns (the huge market by my work) early next week so I already have it down on my shopping list. I am holding out hope that since this store is huge and their selection of cheese is just as big that I will be able to find it. I am on a mission!

Que pensez-vous?

