Well Begun Is Half Done

All day long I kept saying these words to myself and hearing Mary Poppins saying them, as well.

You know in the movie when Mary Poppins tells Jane and Michael about playing a game and it’s called “Well Begun Is Half Done”, then Michael says that he doesn’t like the sound of it. Well, I don’t like the sound of it either. In the movie  it refers to Jane and Michael tidying up their room and for me it refers to the fact that we continuously have to do things over and over and it always starts out well and then it only gets half finished because something doesn’t work out so good.

Today our “well begun is half done” happened to be the drywall in the two upstairs rooms. Dude has been saying lately that it’s looking pretty good and we can soon primer the walls. Well guess what?? Our brand, spanking, new drywalled walls are cracking. That’s right. Right up the middle in the identical areas of both rooms.

It seems that since the house is made out of concrete it’s continuously expanding and contracting and it’s pulling at our new drywall. We had put in a metal rod and a clee a few months ago to fix this problem since there is a big crack in the side of the house. The rod and clee were supposed to push the house together and stop the crack from getting worse. Then we put up new dry to hide the rod and also to put in some insulation. Well the clee is on one side of the house (the library side), but the other side (Tinki’s room) needs to have a metal UPN to pull it together. We have been having the hardest time trying to get this. Now with the weather being warm during the day and cold at night, the house is heating up and then cooling down and Dude thinks this is causing the drywall to contract and expand with the temperature which is probably the reason for the initial crack in the outside wall of the house.

Great! He did his best to fix the issue, but we seem to be having the same issue with our new wall!

He already fixed two of the cracks and then today he goes upstairs to put another finish coat on the walls and voila, another crack appeared today.

The crazy thing is that it was there during the day, then as soon as the temperature dropped it disappeared and the crack he fixed the other day started to bulge. Now we are desperately in need of finding that stupid UPN.

I already tried looking on line and of course all these metal places won’t answer your email questions and when I call they say that they won’t sell you just one short piece. I even took a picture of one over to Point P to ask those guys where to find one and those losers looked at it like it was from outer space. No one there even knew what it was and those stupid things are on houses all over the place here! FIRED! That’s what I say. How the heck can you work in a construction store and not know what a metal UPN is??

So tomorrow we are headed to a metal shop that is near my work. This guy makes all kinds of neat things and maybe he’ll have a junk pile we can fish through to find it. Once we do find it then we have to figure out how to get it on the other side of the rod (which is in our neighbor’s yard). Then we have to hope it works and our drywall (and outer wall) stops cracking. We can’t paint the walls until then.

I’m still hearing Mary Poppins and it’s translating to “one step forward and two steps back”.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 16, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m struggling with the concept of well begun, half done. Somehow it doesn’t address the difficulty I have with finishing up. It seems like no matter how far I get in the beginning, it’s still 3/4 of the way to being done. Or maybe 7/8ths. I actually got something done Saturday, but only with goading, so it hardly counts.

    • Lee-
      Goading-I like that! Doesn’t it just drive you mad when things can’t seem to get finished! I have a house full of unfinished things because in order to finish one project in requires that another one get finished first which in turn, requires another one to be finished! I’m plum worn out. I will be a glorious day when something in this house actually comes together like is suppose to.

  2. Sounds like your’e ot having much luck with your walls in this place. It is one of those situations where you sometimes feel like giving up, but I am sure you and Dude won’t do that.

  3. If I had to hear Mary Poppins in my head while doing projects I’d go crazy too. But seriously, sounds like you guys have quite the tricky situation. It must be a bit tough waking up each morning wondering which new wrinkle that building’s gonna throw at you. Has it become harder than you guys expected? Any regrets? Or do you just keep your eye on the big picture and push through?

    • Corey-
      It absolutely has been harder that we expected. We heard all the horror stories and new it was true about remodeling in France, but you never really get it until it happens to you. Life is just like that. I don’t have any regrets, that’s for sure. I really do love the house and the town, I just wish the pace could be picked up a bit and some things would just come together. I think Dude has some regrets, though. Sissy 🙂 I can’t live with those cuz it doesn’t do any good. The house will come together someday and it will be great. I just keep thinking that way. I just like to vent about the situation cuz it helps more than you can imagine.

Que pensez-vous?

