A Day in the Bathroom

Nope-the title is not what you think, although it would have been appropriate due to my run in with the flu last week! Which brings me to say a great big thanks for thinking of me to all who sent me well wishes! You can’t imagine how great it was to receive all your emails and comments while I was feeling a bit under the weather. I feel much better, but am still feeling two residual effects. The first is the bouts of nausea I still get whenever my stomach starts to feel a bit empty, but I do have an infinite amount of crackers and biscuits at my side to help with this. The second is the fatigue that I am still feeling. I can’t quite make it through the day without tiring easier than usual. I am hopeful by the end of the week that both will be gone for good. Again, thank you all for the “get wells”, it is much appreciated.

So… the title? It is in fact synonymous for the day Dude and I spent working on the tear out of the master bathroom.  The old owners decided that large squares of cork on the wall must have been a la mode in their day and they dove right in. The entire bathroom, all walls, was covered with this stuff.

Fortunately for us, it came off easier than the stupid wall paper they put up, but unfortunately guess what was behind it?? If you guessed glue, you win the prize and apparently have been paying attention to my ramblings 🙂

Every wall was covered with this thick, yellow glue and how! The good thing about this room is Dude said that we would only have to scrape off one wall! Yippey. I’m down with that. Since two of the walls are outside walls we are going to just put up new dry wall to make the wall nice and straight and also insulate it, so no scraping necessary, and the other wall is an inside wall that he said we can just smooth coat. This made my day, cuz ya all know how I feel about glue.

While I got busy scraping my one wall, Dude put on his thinking cap. He was trying to decide if he wanted to keep the tub or not. It’s a great tub made of cast iron (which we found out is hard to come by here on a budget like ours), but it is old and showing signs of rust and wear. In the end, Dude made the decision to chuck it.

In order to do this he had to get his mallet because the old owners had encased the tub in red brick, some weird type of plaster, glue and cork. This was on two sides of the tub while the side near the outside wall was encased in a layer of brick and plaster. This apparently was because the wall was not straight and it was easier to do this than just make the wall straight. Huh??!

So away he went. Boy, these guys never bothered to throw away all their left over construction material cuz we found it all shoved underneath the tub! All the broken pieces of bricks, plaster and dirt were there. It was unreal! It took tons of bags and cardboard boxes to get rid of the stuff.

What they also did was put all the electrical, water and heating runs under the tub and also encased them in brick and plaster.

Then Dude found a big hole in the bottom of the floor, just under the tub that opens up into the garage. Neat! Boy, I feel some real fun coming on!

Unfortunately, we weren’t able to get the tub out of the bathroom that night cuz it was getting so late. Since I got sick and the subsequent revelation of the leaky roof, it happens to still be there. For now we have put the bathroom work on hold and started to work on the roof. If the weather happens to turn bad were are in deep trouble…..

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Ashley, glad to hear that you are slowly getting back on your feet. As for the bathroom saga, I can’t believe that they ran electric cables under the bath. Having said that, you are in France, and we have talked about the wonders of the French Electricians before. Chin up, you will get there in the end.

    • Stephen-
      The funny thing about those cables under the tub is that we have to keep them there. Of course, Dude will fix it up more professional, but in order to not have to rerun everything he said it will have to stay. I guess we need to stay a little “French”!

  2. Ashley, I hope you are feeling better! I was out of town last week on a college visit with my daughter and missed reading – Charleston, SC – have you been there? Some people in the south call it the states version of Paris – I guess as close as I’m going to get for quite a while! Glad to hear you are a little better. We are getting ready to tear out a kitchen and an old bathroom much like the one you are doing (part of our house dates back to 1890’s), Too bad I can’t send you pics, we could share the pain. Take care of yourself.

    • Debra-
      Hope the college visits went well. I remember doing that with my oldest daughter. It was both fun and stressful! As for Charleston, SC, nope I’ve never been, but I hear it is fabulous and a must see! Maybe someday:) I hope your tear out and remodel goes better than ours, Good luck and keep me posted on how it is going. I would love to hear about it even if it makes me jealous (you know, cuz you’ll probably be finished before we will!)

      • Ashley, I’m hoping I get to France before this house is done . . .we’ve been working on it for 19 years! Yes, you read that right, 19!!! First, we did a complete reno job on the original house, inside and outside. Then we had 3 more children and realized that the 1600 sq. ft. would never due. At that point (late 1990’s) business was good and the most incredible architect came up with an additional (3,000 sq. ft.) that I couldn’t resist. Additions on both sides of the house forcing us to raise the roof (I won’t go into the night they tore the roof off we had an unpredicted storm blow through as rain water washed down every drywalled area inside). Finally, space & beauty combined! We put a lot of stone around the house and used lots of recyclable products that at that point were very expensive. It took until 2002 to be 90% done (savings depleted & a much higher mortage {insert the word STUPID here}) – and, we still have mini projects all over. But, the last remaining exterior wall joining the old kitchen to the new breakfast room is finally being removed in the next couple of weeks despite this darn recession. I just can’t live without a workable kitchen any longer. So, as you renovate that beautiful abode in the south of France – remember, there are those of us in middle Maryland who would trade places in a minute!

      • Debra-
        If this place takes 19 years + to finish, I don’t think I will last! Your house sounds terrific! I hope you finish the kitchen soon. It’s just awful living in a remodel and I am not even one to talk since it’s only been 2 months! I am really glad I don’t have any little kids. I definitely know that we would not have taken on this challenge if so. I hope you make it here soon and when you do, maybe buy a house that’s all ready done 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

