Happy Halloween!!

Happy Halloween to all!

Halloween happens to be my favorite holiday of the whole year so I am kind of let down by the fact that France just doesn’t get it the way we Americans do.

During the month of October I just loved seeing all the decorations in the stores and at neighbors’ houses. We ourselves were big into decorating when the kids were young. I also miss passing out candy and seeing everyone dressed up. It’s such a huge deal in The States that now I am finally feeling a bit of culture shock!

A few weeks ago I found out that our town was going to put on a Halloween party and got all excited and told Tinki about it. We were gonna be in like Flynn. Then we found out that it was only for kids 3-12??!! What the heck? This holiday is for everyone and I’m crying foul. These guys don’t understand how much fun this holiday is for big people, too and I tell you when they do figure it out, look out!

So for the month of October, this picture was about as Halloweeny as it got for me. I vow right at this moment, that next year I am dressing up in full force and gonna show these Frenchies how it’s done. I might scare my co-workers, but then again, that is all part of the fun:) Muaha ha ha!!!

I ended up finding a picture of me taken 2 years ago. I was Laura Croft Tomb Raider. Look out Angie, your competition is in town!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on October 31, 2011, in France by the Snapshot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I can confirm that the French definitely practice Halloween Lite, if they practice it at all. I’m not sure why it never caught on the same way…cause I know little French kids like free chocolate as much as anyone else. My two current theories are: 1) the French are generally more reserved, so dressing up and acting silly falls outside of their comfort zone, and 2) I don’t know if it’s the same in the south but here it seems taboo to bother your neighbors, with privacy being highly valued and most properties being walled-in and/or gated…I wonder if that keeps the trick-or-treat concept from taking hold. It seems there’s a big privacy respect thing here. What do you think?

    • Corey-
      I definitely think their is a big privacy thing going on here so that could be a good reason why. I was also thinking about the fact that it might not work do to not having suburbs like we do in The States. Even thought the French have branched out of the village house life, they still have houses with walls and gates around them which makes it tough to do the door-to-door thing. Then again, the town could all sit outside of their gates dressed up with their bowls of candy so I don’t know. I firmly believed that if the French could just break loose and try it once, they would be hook!

  2. Your best bet is to organize your own party. But my neighborhood is really into it. A retired pharmacist neighbor made a ton of salty popcorn and filled many many handmade cones with it to give out. It was definitely the best treat on our street.

    • Meredith-
      Maybe I should move to your town! I thought about hanging by the house and giving out candy, but when we got home in the evening there seriously wasn’t a sole around so I just said forget it. Who knows, maybe next year we can do a party. I have a year to think about it so it could happen!

  3. I think the best part of Halloween is seeing all the little kids dressed up in their costumes. I don’t dress up myself but I’m more than happy to hand out candy and treats to all the little goblins who come to our door.

    • Michel-
      I so love dressing up. At my office in The States we did every year and even had a contest. It was awesome. I even dressed up in the evening to give out candy. If I can find the picture of me two years ago I will go back and post it on the site. Not sure if I can find it, thought. I also like seeing all the kids come around in their costumes. They all have such a great time. I have such fond memories of trick or treating as a kid!

  1. Pingback: Happy Halloween … Chinese Style « Life Behind The Wall

Que pensez-vous?

