Sunrise

I have to confess that I have almost never seen a sunrise. For most of you that might be surprising, but I am more of a sunset kind of person. Not because I think sunsets are more beautiful but because I am a self professed night owl and hate to get up early in the morning. Anything before 8am is considered just way too early to me. On weekends I have even been known to sleep until after 10am!

Due to this, I have almost never captured a glimpse of a sunrise. As luck would have it, in Provence during this time of year, the sun rises at pretty close to 8am. On the day I took this photo it happened to be a night that I camp out at my office which over looks the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. I jumped at the chance to snap a couple of shots knowing that this was a rare experience for me. It was a gorgeous morning and I stood and watched the sun rise for as long as possible. That means until I felt I was going blind. I’ll make sure I leave that part out at my next eye check-up when my doctor asks me if I ever look at the sun for long periods of time 🙂

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in France by the Snapshot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am just the opposite; definitely an early morning riser and most definitely not a night owl. I like to get up early when we are in Sablet and walk down to the Tabac/Presse and pick up the paper and then go to the cafe and read and chat with the owner Bruno and watch everyone come in to get a quick coffee or glass of wine, usually watered down before they go off to work. Your pictures of the sunrise are beautiful.

    • Michel-Your early mornings sound nice and peaceful. In the past I have to admit that I have told myself to get up early since I do feel that mornings are more calm than the evening feeling of hustle bustle in the air, but I never seem to be able to get myself up and going. I would just gaze over at my alarm clock, groan and go back to sleep. I just don’t have the true will to get up early!

  2. Beautiful photos! I had to smile at this, because in Burgundy we have a lovely view to the east from our kitchen. And one day when I had to get up early for something, I was shocked to see that we had a great sunrise, who knew! My husband, a morning person, just laughed. Never miss a sunset, though!

    • Lynn-I try to never miss the sunset, either. Where I work and where I live the sun sets over a hill so I don’t get the nice affect of it falling into the water. When I lived in California, during the spring and summer, I would never miss a sunset. I lived and worked about 10 minutes from the nearest beach and just loved going each night to take a nice stroll along the water and to watch the sun sink into the Pacific. It’s one thing I certainly do miss.

Que pensez-vous?

