Happy New Year To All

I want to wish each and every one of you a happy and prosperous New Year.

Have a wonderful time celebrating the ringing in of the new and out with the old.

Of course, in France, this time of year gives way to such a wonderful excuse to dip into all that lovely wine that is out on the store shelves.  By look of the store aisles this week, I guess everyone was thinking that. Even the nuns that were in front of Dude and me at the checkout counter were going to be partying it up this weekend. They sure were loading a bunch of spirits onto the conveyer belt. Dude said that he was feeling a bit guilty about the one beer he was buying until he saw their cart!

I had my camera all ready to snap a shot of them and their purchase, but every time I tried to take a photo one of the nuns would look straight at me. I swear, it must have happened 3 or 4 times and I just couldn’t get the shot without being totally obvious so I had to abandon ship. I do suppose that I could have just asked them if I could take a picture of them holding their wine, but I really didn’t want to get scolded by nuns.

As for me, I would love to dig into this lovely bottle for my own celebrating, but alas, I don’t drink. It’s suddenly occurred to me, while looking at this bottle, that it’s a shame I don’t partake (5 whole litters in one shot).  If anything, this past year would warrant the drinking of this whole bottle.

On second thought, that might be a bad idea. I might have the tendency to start drinking on a daily basis if this house situation keeps going as it has!

Oh well, I guess I will ring in the new year sober just like all the other years. Who knows this year might be the best one I’ve ever had and it would be a shame to mess up the first day of it 🙂

Bonne fetes to all!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in French Daily and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year to you and your family! Here’s to 2012 being the best year yet!!

  2. Happy New Year. Let’s hope it’s an exceptional year for you with the house situation.

    Stephen.

  3. Happy New Year to you all. You are very sensible not drinking – I messed up the first day of 2012 due to excesses on New Years eve oops!!!

  4. Happy New Year Ashley! I hope you had a great New Year’s. I wish you and your family a very healthy, happy and worry-free, problem-free New Year.

Que pensez-vous?

