Weekend Mornings are the Best

Do you know what I like best about the weekend? The peace and calm I get to have each morning. I think I mentioned one time that I’m not a morning person. If I have to get up before 8:30am (or even 9:00am) I am not happy. So guess what that means? Monday through Friday I’m not happy.

But, on the weekend, the most glorious weekend, I get to sleep in. I usually do try to make it up by 9:30 am. This is of course if we have not planned an outing for the day, in that case I have to wake early and this results in another day of unhappy unless of course it’s a road trip. Then I manage to get over the early start in about .05 seconds.

From the time I was a little girl, staying up late and sleeping in was in my blood. My mom always said that she had a devil of a time trying to get my behind out of bed each morning. I remember her coming into my room 5 or 6 times to get me to get up! Ahh! I just hated it. Then as I moved into Jr. High School (which is what we called it back in the day) I was given an alarm clock. Do you know what I did? I would inevitably hit that snooze button 5 or 6 times!

I was the kid that couldn’t wait for college classes and be done with high school. Not because I didn’t like high school, au contraire, I am the weird kid you hated in school because I loved (and still do) school. The reason why I was ready for college was to shed that early morning schedule of high school and make my own, dang, late as possible, class schedule. You know what?? That is just what I did. I picked all my classes as late as I could possibly get them and I was in heaven through my college years. Finally, I had a schedule that would conform to my own natural instincts.

Lucky for me, Dude ended up being just like me. He loves to stay up late and sleep in. Well, that was one thing we weren’t going to argue about!

Then along came the kids. I vowed to teach those rugrats a lesson or two about how the schedule worked in our house. I was gonna make the kids “stay up late and sleep in late people” if it killed me. The first couple of months were rough, no lie. Why is it that little babies are early risers? Why can’t late rising be genetic? Boy did I have my work cut out for me! Everyone of my little darlings wanted to go to bed at 8:00pm and be up at 6:00am. Well, I was having none of that, mind you.

Thank goodness for soda and all things sugary. I just threw some of that sugary good stuff in their bottles each evening and fed them a great deal of sugary snacks before bed and that had them buzzing around the house for hours on a high with a big crash at the end and then off to bed around 11:00pm or so. Then they miraculously didn’t get up until 8:30am or 9:00am. Ahh! Success at last.

I hope you guys aren’t buying this. I wouldn’t put soda in a baby’s bottle. Please….I didn’t even bottle feed them, they were nursed and besides they liked the soda better right out of the can, anyway, so that’s how they got it. Soda in one hand, gummy worms in the other while racing around the house for hours in their baby walker 🙂

Well at some point in their early life success was at hand and all my kids, one way or the other, conformed to staying up late and sleeping in. This of course, did pose the same problem my mom had with me once they were school aged, but it was nothing that a few days of going to school in their pj’s didn’t fix and they soon learned that we can sleep in on the weekends but just learn to hate life during the week.

Now that it’s back to pretty much Dude and me (Tinki is homeschooled so we can make our own late school schedule) I have relished my weekends. Even though I wake up on Saturday and Sunday around 9ish, both of my guys tend to sleep in later than that which leaves me an hour or sometimes two of shear quiet and serenity.

I wake up, open my windows to my lovely garden and village, put on a pot of coffee and make breakfast, then I sit and read or surf the net (reading my favorite blogs). Occasionally I will turn on the TV, but not too often since it messes with the silence.

On the weekend there is no noise since the house is still sleeping and our town is so quiet. No hustle bustle feeling of trying to get ready for work or the day. I only hear the coffee maker, the wind in the trees, the birds singing and the tapping of the keyboard.

Since being married and having children I have had for the past 20+ years, someone always there next to me at any given time of day. There were little ones tugging at my feet and following me everywhere I go. They were my little buddies and I was never alone. It was exactly how I wanted it to be, too. I had a lot of children because I am an only child and I hated it. I still do. I wanted my kids to always have someone to play with or someone to fight with and many choices to do either of those with. As they got older the house was always full with them and their friends. Then there were all the extra-curricular activities which seemed to be so dang early on Saturday morning!

Now, with the oldest three gone and moving to a new place, quiet has come to our house once more. My few precious hours each morning on Saturday and Sunday are exactly what I need to refresh myself. It really is nice to not have to converse with any one, to know you have a few hours to yourself and your own thoughts and to be able to just breathe and be calm. Nothing is a rush and everything can wait. That is how I feel for those few precious hours each weekend morning. I can leisurely sip my coffee without knowing I have to run out the door soon. I even indulge myself in a second cup and leisurely sip that one, too.

The house could be falling down around me (and it pretty much is right now) but I don’t have to think about it or worry about it for a small bit of time. My weekend mornings are what stress relief is made of and is something I eagerly look forward to at the end of each week. Ohh, the sweetness of a quiet country life on a weekend morning, even if it is for only a few hours.  Then it’s back to the madness at hand called “Life at the Fisher House”….Well, I guess I had better enjoy the serenity when I can since I think I might be hearing my house fall down soon.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on January 15, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Enjoy your weekends. I do too but rarely sleep in past 7:00; just can’t do it and our “Newfie” is very insistent that I get up with her. For some reason, when I am out of town on business, she does let Shirley sleep in. What’s the deal with that.

    • Hi Michel- Well sounds like Newfie knows the person to bug to get up in the morning! Man, 7am is not even a time I recognize as morning! Maybe I will reconsider getting a pet. I would probably have a much harder time training them to sleep in than I did my kids!

  2. I love stress-free relaxed weekends. They are the best! I spent Saturday afternoon watching Gilmore Girls, sipping hot chocolate, and playing on Pinterest. It was heaven!

Que pensez-vous?

