Afternoon Crash

My company’s accountants happen to be in the same building as us. We see them often and we have a very good relationship with them. The two people that I work with the most are very nice and easy to get along with and a big plus for me, they know how to work! These guys burn the midnight oil like nobody’s business and they get the job done.

They have been our accountants for quite a few years now, but I’ve only been working with them for the past 15 months. Well, each year they have a Welcome In the New Year party at their office for any and all clients that can come and say hello and spend an hour or two chatting.

About two weeks ago, we received an invitation to their afternoon “Cocktail”. Yes, folks, that’s what they called it. When I saw that, I knew we were in for it.

Well, today was the day for the “Cocktail”. One of the accountants had come down earlier to use our fridge as a holding place for some of the food since their fridge wasn’t big enough (big surprise, it’s a French fridge!) When she came down she reminded us of the fun we were going to have this afternoon.

Now mind you, this “Cocktail” was scheduled for 12:15pm, right smack at the beginning of lunch. Keep that in mind.

So when the hour arrived, off all of us went to the office of our accountants. When we got there it was already full with people. It seems their clients either really like them or the free goodies and drinks were enough to say, “I’ll be there”. I suspect it was probably both.

From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted with “Bonjour” and a glass of champagne. Okay… nothing like starting off the mid-day just right! For those of you who don’t know, I don’t really drink. I just never acquired the taste for it and yes, I know I’m in France, but still, that’s just how it is. Also I’m a bit of a light weight and will slide out of my chair after ½ a glass of wine. So having a glass of champagne in my hand at noon was just the picture I was going for of me enjoying life in the south of France and to say Boo-yaa to all my friends in the states 🙂

So there we were chatting it up with one of the owners of the accounting agency while the other owner was passing around little goodies and constantly trying to fill up my glass of champagne (by the way, he is the cutest and sweetest little Frenchman ever!). Well there I was nursing my champagne and eating all these little French goodies when all of a sudden my accountant (the one who came to the office earlier to use our fridge) decides she is going to hand me a plate with a piece of Galette des Roi (the first piece I’ve had this year)and another piece of some Parisian cake that I had never had before. I nearly died, cuz I was already buzzing from the few sips I had taken from my drink and the few goodies I had already eaten and here she was trying to feed me more sugar than I had seen in a month!

The rush of sugar was already well into my system at this point but what else could I do? I can’t refuse free French cakes! I just had to eat them, of course! So in the time span of one hour, I had drunk two glasses of champagne, eaten several goodies all laid out on the table and gorged myself on cake. All of this starting at noon and taken on an empty stomach (aka-no viable food source before the sugar gorge). I think all the pastries was the reason I was still standing. The adrenaline rush was now in full force.

By the time the “Cocktail” was over and we were back in the office, I was feeling a bit sick. I had a sugar rush so bad that my head hurt, my stomach felt sick and I was trembling. I really wanted to eat something healthy with protein, but I was too full on crap to be able to do so.

By the time 30 minutes had passed, all of us in the office were complaining about headaches and stomach aches and how we just wanted to go lay down and sleep! I didn’t know how I was going to make it through the rest of the afternoon at work! Finally about an hour later I was able to eat a sandwich which seemed to make that really awful feeling go away, but I don’t think I will be quite myself again until later this evening.

Next year I will be prepared for the “Cocktail” and be sure to eat an entire chicken before participating in all that French afternoon partying. For now, I am seriously laying off the sweets for about a month! I probably won’t keep that promise, but right now is seems like a good one to make.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You lightweight, you have a long way to go to reach French standards – must try harder next year.

Que pensez-vous?

