Fuel and Scaffolding All In Three Days

We finally have fuel back in our boiler tank. It was definitely a very cold weekend without heat. After huddling in the kitchen and memorizing all the lines in the Harry Potter series and then the Star Wars trilogy due to my weekend movie marathon, I was glad when the fuel guy arrived on Monday morning. He was late, big surprise, but he did show up on the expected delivery date so I guess I can forgive him the lateness (plus he had the most gorgeous Paul Newman blue eyes ever).

He had to park his truck outside our property because it was too big to fit through the gate (same problem as the material delivery truck fiasco). No big deal for the fuel truck, though, as he had a hose that was around 40 meters in length. He was able to run the hose through our garden and into the garage and all the way back to our tank.

It only took about 5-10 minutes to give us the 1000 liters we ordered. We didn’t even have to move the car or any of our stuff out of the way! It was simple, easy and expensive. This is how I feel about the simple and easy part 🙂  This is how I feel about the expensive part 😦 This summer we will be working on ways to improve the efficiency of our home so that next winter we will be more prepared and try to use less fuel and be more energy efficient. I think we can do it so I’m not too worried. Even thought the fuel costs an arm and a leg, I still love my heating system! The fuel guy seemed to like it too and kept raving about our tank. He thought it was super cool. He has good taste in fuel tanks!

After the fill up, away he went with my money and away we went with turning the system back on. Heat at last, that’s always a good thing in weather like this.

That same evening while I was at work, I got a call from Mr. Right Hand Man who said that they were ready to come to my house and put up the scaffolding. He wanted to know if Tuesday morning would work. Unfortunately, ce n’etait pas bon for me and I had to tell him no, but that Wednesday would be good. I was in luck because Wednesday happened to be an okay day for him and his team, too.  Yippey, cuz Monday was the day I hit the jackpot.

This morning I got up early in anticipation for the 8:30ish arrival. Well 8:30 came and went and so did 9:00. Around 9:30 I called Mr. Right Hand Man to ask him what was happening. He didn’t answer so I left a message to please call me back and verify that the team was really showing up today.

Around 9:45 the team of two guys showed up with the scaffolding. They took a look around and then talked to my neighbor (whose garden will be hosting the scaffolding while the façade is done). They finally came to the conclusion that the best thing to do was to put up the scaffolding in our yard for the first week of work to do the roof and then once that is done they will take the scaffolding down and reset it up in our neighbor’s yard for the work on the façade. This way they (and we) won’t have to bother our neighbors with having this big contraption in their yards for a long duration. For our neighbors, this cuts the time in half that the scaffolding will be in their yard. I thought that was a great idea (cuz living in a village house you really don’t want to piss of and bother your neighbors to much, close quarters and all).

Well, to work these guys went and they put up the scaffolding in about 3 hours. During this time Mr. Right Hand Man decided to call me back. That was nice. I let him know that his little helpers had arrived and were busy getting their work done outside in the freezing cold.

Now our house looks like this and believe me, I love it!

Finally, we have some positive progress to our renovation nightmare. The only thing Dude was really worried about is that they had to drill holes in the side of the house to anchor the scaffolding. That’s all we need is more holes in this place! I’m not too worried. When they take the scaffolding down, they should be able to fill those in. After all, they’ll already have the colored stucco for the façade ready to go, what’s a few more dabbles on this old place. I’m sure it will be no problem for them.

When the guys left they said that they were going to check on when the materials will be delivered and they are hoping that all will be ready for tomorrow. I guess I won’t know until tomorrow, though. One of the guys said that until all the roofing material is here, they can’t start the work because they don’t want to risk taking off the old roof and not having anything to cover it with (for who knows how long) cuz if the weather turns bad again we will be screwed. I like his logic.

So for now, all we have is a fashion accessory to our house and we have to wait and see when the progress will continue. Forward march!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on February 8, 2012, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wow, two for two; your good luck karma is back. Have a good day.

    • Thanks Michel! I hope it continues. I would really like to at least get the materials here by tomorrow. I looked at the weather just a bit ago and it looks like we will have snow again this weekend so the workers won’t be able to start. The good news is that everyone is predicting warmer weather for some time next week. I am keeping my fingers crossed on that! Have a good day, too 🙂

  2. Oh Ashley. I can totally relate to the no fuel thing. We’ve run out twice now and always in the coldest weather. This last time was worse though cause we were alSo out of firewood. I’ve come to have a love/hate relationship with the fuel guy.
    The scaffolding looks great. That’s exciting I know.
    Keep warm and toasty

    Aidan

    • Hey Aidan, If fuel continues to be as expensive as it is around here I think I will also be having a love/hate relationship with our fuel guy! I think that it must be one of Newton’s non-numbered laws that you will inevitably run out of fuel at the coldest possible moment! I can’t believe he actually came on the day scheduled, nothing in France happens like that 🙂 Stay warm and toasty yourself. I know it’s much colder in your area than ours!

  3. So pleased it is all coming together for you. Keep warm and toasty!

    • Thanks Jacqui! We’re trying to warm up and stay that way. It must certainly be colder where you are than here! I hope Bertha is working her little pump off to keep you guys all nice and warm 🙂

  4. Holy moly! That scaffolding is TALL. My heat stopped working last winter on a cold, snowy night and my first thought was the furnace, which had been worked on the previous week. Who knew how long it would take the furnace company to get someone out. Then I discovered my stove didn’t work and my hot water was tepid, a good clue to the fact that the propane had run out the first time ever in over 20 years. My propane delivery lady was there within 45 minutes, after which she lit pilot lights and tested everything. Hah! Her deliveries were now on a new computer-generated schedule. Don’t tell the company, but now she’s checking her customers when SHE thinks they will need propane.

    • Sheesh! Lee, I think it must be something with the stars not alining right in the sky this year! There are so many people who have run out of heat and have been caught of guard. Lucky for you, your delivery lady was able to serve you right up. Good for her that she is checking in personally on her customers, that’s something you don’t see everyday. Leaving people up to the chance of a computer-generated schedule doesn’t sound good. Hope you are all nice and warm now that your heat is working. I know I’m feeling better since my heaters back on 🙂

  5. Looks like a pretty big renovation. Hopefully it all goes well for ya!

  6. Hey, things are rolling along in the right direction. That’s great. Your house is going to look so nice when it’s finished. Stay warm!

    • Hi Meredith! So far so good (even thought it’s moving at a snail’s pace!). The only thing that keeps me going is exactly what you said, that it’s going to be so nice WHEN it’s finished 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

