The Roof is Finally Done!

Yippey! Our roof is finally finished! It’s been months in the making (as all of you who are faithful readers of my ramblings know), but now I am happy to report that the workers completed the job today and it looks terrific. Now I am proud to say I have one of the newest and best looking roofs in my village 🙂

This morning the workers came to put on the finishing touches and to do all the clean up. They are in the process of picking up all the junk in my garden and taking all the trash to one of my favorite places, the dump. All the materials are slowly being moved out of the way or taken away.

They moved some of the things to the front part of our garden.

I’m not sure if the mixer will be used for the façade or not, but the other materials should be hauled away in the next day or two. The scaffolding is still up. Sometime this week, hopefully tomorrow, they should be taking it down and repositioning it around the back and east facing side of the house to start the work on the façade.

Thankfully through this whole process, we only had a few small things happen, but nothing too extreme. One was the snow day when the workers showed up for about 30 minutes and then left cuz there was no way they were gonna be able to work in the snow and cold, the second thing was when it was super windy one day and they didn’t get as much work done as they could have and they left early and the third thing was the rain that we had on Monday.

For Monday’s rain, Dude had to go up all by himself at 5:30am in the morning and put a giant tarp on the roof because when the workers left on Friday there was no real threat of rain so they left the water vapor barrier and wood all exposed on the east side. Dude was really worried that we might get a heavy rain after viewing the weather report late Sunday night so we set our alarm and he went up and covered everything. This was also in case the workers didn’t show up due to heavy rain. Then we could feel comfortable knowing that at least we weren’t going to have any leaks.

While he was up there it did start to sprinkle and there was a bit of wind that kicked in so he used the surrounding tuiles to hold the tarp down. Since he was by himself the whole thing took a little over an hour, but he was successful.

About 8:30am the workers showed up. Right about then it really started to rain pretty hard but they decided to keep working and they kept the tarp on in certain areas to protect the roof, too. We took off for work and had hopes that the rain wouldn’t get any worse and happily it only last for a little bit so the workers were able to continue.

On Tuesday, the main guys said they would most likely be finished that day and they were just going to finish cementing the outer edges and the flashing around the old chimneys and our new window.

I am really happy that we actually had workers show up each and every day and stay the whole day, too! They even only took a 1 hour lunch break!

I really wanted Dude to go up on the roof and take some super duper pictures of it, but he is not too keen on walking on the new tiles. I can understand that given that it cost us an arm and a leg each for the work. So I just peaked my head out of our new roof window and took a couple of shots of the east facing side.

Then Dude decided that he was willing to climb the scaffolding to take some shots of the west facing side. I was ever so happy about this cuz his photos are better than mine. They actually show how nice our tuiles look on a large scale!

Even though my roof looks great and it’s new, Dude and I won’t be totally impressed until we get another really good rain and no leaks happen. That will be the real test!

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on this major achievement. You must be besides yourself. The new roof looks really nice. I am sure it won’t leak and I hope you won’t mind if I wish for it to not rain in Provence until after the 1st of April when we are back in California. I want nothing but sunshine and brilliant blue skys for our visit to Sablet.

    • Hi Michel, Thank you very much I am ecstatic! I will agree to try to hold off on the rain until after April 1 so you can enjoy your time here. I could do with a bit of good weather for a while anyway and right now it sure is nice 🙂

  2. Well all I can say is. Thank god for that. It does look fantastic, you must be very relieved. I am really,really pleased for you. Now you can concentrate on the inside without fear of it all getting washed away. Great news.

    • Hi Stephen- That’s so true. Being washed away in your house is never a good thing and I am really happy that after all this time it’s finally done! Let’s hope it holds. I hope you are feeling much better and happy almost spring to you 🙂

  3. Woohoo! That is one sexy-looking South-of-France roof! During the next storm you guys will be nice and warm & dry and it’s gonna feel SO good knowing you’ve got some brand-spankin’ new protection up top. Congrats Ashley!

    • Thank you Corey. I would have never thought of using the word “sexy” for my roof, but I kind of like it and I think I’ll take it and run! It feels nice having a huge project finally done 🙂

  4. Thought of doing cartwheels when I saw the title, but instead, I’m going to do my Jane-Fonda-upper-body-flex-for-seniors 20-minute workout. Les tuiles look wonderful. You take photos like I do … need to move the camera a few inches each for several shots, just to make sure some gorgeous little item isn’t missed.

    I’m so glad to see this day come after feeling so agonized for you when the whole thing seemed to be in the toilet.

    • Well now Lee, I would rather have liked seeing you do some cartwheels! That would have been cool! On those photos, yes, I do some weird stuff cuz I always want to be sure I don’t miss anything. What a nut I am. Then I have to go sharing all 100 of them! Hope you had a good “20 minutes” with Jane!

  5. Hallelujah! I know you are filled with joy. And boy it is gorgeous. I am celebrating for you. Toast!

    • Thank you Renee. I am SO filled with joy and hope that no unexpected issues come up and that the workers did a terrific job. It’s nice to have the newest roof in town, too, I might add 🙂 Thanks for celebrating with me!

  6. Yippee are you throwing a celebration party? If not I hope you have some Cheddar in!

    • Hey Jacqui! Yup- it’s called go antique shopping to buy some stuff for the kitchen celebration party 🙂 Now that the work is finally getting done, we can start to think about the fun stuff! BTW-cheddar is in! I just found a block of it. That’s always good 🙂

  7. Great . .one project down! Doesn’t it feel soooo good to cross the roofing project off the list? It looks fabulous.

    • Hi Debra! Yes-It absolutely feels great to have something totally done amongst all these half and 3/4 finished projects! It is even warmer now on the third story and we can actually go up there! 🙂 Yaay!!!!

Que pensez-vous?

