Flowers Have Appeared

Last Wednesday I post a picture of the tree in my garden that had just started to show little buds. It looked like this.

Well, now my little tree has flowers on it! I can’t believe how many buds have opened up into lovely little pink flowers and today, just one week later, it looks like this.

The birds have started to come back and sit on the branches and sing their lovely songs. It reminds me of the scene in Mary Poppins (my favorite Disney movie with real people) when Ms. Poppins opens the window in the nursery of Jane and Michael and the little bird jumps on her finger so they can sing together. I don’t think my little birds will go for that so I won’t even try. They’d automatically fly away if I started singing to them! Believe me no one wants to hear that awful sound. So, I’m content to just watch them chatter and sing to each other.

The cats have come lurking back, as well. If only I could keep them from climbing the trees and trying to eat my little bird friends! I have a good view of them while they are prowling about so I can give them an evil eye before they pounce.

The bees and wasps have also made their way back to my garden. I am okay with bees since they make honey and all (as long as they stay on the flowers), but I absolutely hate wasps and we’ve had a few in our house.

I’ve been known to run and scream, call for Dude, and then when he comes to save me I hide behind him. Yes, I am a self-proclaimed chicken when it comes to these bugs. This spring we are getting screens so I can actually open the windows and enjoy the fresh air without those pesky creatures coming in.  Screens seem to be a novel idea in France and I have no idea why. I guess the French don’t mind flying insects as much as I do.

We are able to actually move back into our living room since the temperature has gone up. I’m totally thrilled since it is my favorite room in the house and it’s been closed off for 3 months now. This is the room that gives me the wonderful view of my entire garden and gorgeous trees.

Ahh-happy is the heart during springtime in Provence.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on March 14, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’d hate to think of a lady buying a house in Provence and then NOT totally appreciating the simple beauty of spring flowers on her little French tree. So I want to personally thank you for taking the time to do exactly that. It just makes me feel good about the world that you’re not taking it for granted. Is that weird?

    • Definitely NOT weird, Corey, and I’m glad to have helped in making you feel good about the world 🙂 With the huge milestones and hurtles that our family has encountered over that last two years with the move to France, taking on a new job here, buying the house and then the fix up, etc, I am sooo into the little things that make me happy. I know that I wasn’t able to say that when I was younger so I think that time has matured me for the good and I really do try to take things as they come. I don’t always succeed, but I try and life is too short not to appreciate all the small stuff and I am truly excited about my little flowers, just ask Dude, I talk about it all the time!

      • That’s like me always talking to (i.e. bugging) Charlotte about Parisian history factoids. I think it’s a good sign that we slightly bother our spouses with the same stuff over and over; it shows that we’re passionate, right? Or repetitive…there’s just such a fine line 🙂

      • I’m going with passionate and repetitive, Corey, although Dude would say the contrary and call it nagging, but that’s a bit harsh don’t you think? Anyway, I’m the boss and he’s always overruled so that makes it unanimous by a vote of 1 for passionate and repetitive. I win! 🙂

  2. The dogwoods and forsythia are blooming here, and a few species of magnolia. It’s truly lovely. Keep enjoying those first blooms. There’s nothing like it.

    • Hey Renee- I love dogwood, it’s so pretty. I get to look out my living room window everyday and see more and more blooms and I am really loving it. By the end of the month, my tree should be full 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

