Random Things Everyone Should Know About Me

So, my blogger friend, Sara in Le Petit Village, posted a little piece about herself a few days back and I up and stole the idea from her cuz it totally looked like fun to do. Guess what?? It was!

I figured it would be nice if you all knew some trivia about me so without further ado, here ya go:

Random Things Everyone Should Know About Me

Age: Forty-something (Yikes-that’s what I say when I look in the mirror, anyway! Oh-I also tell myself that I’m sure looking old these days).
Bedsize: Queen
Chores that you hate: Going to the grocery store and cooking (too bad I have to do both in order to live)
Dogs: Nope, but if I had a dog it would be a wiener dog cuz they are the cutest things EVER!
Essential start to your day: Coffee, coffee and more coffee (along with those chocolate chip muffins they sell at Auchan)
Favorite color: Any shade of purple that exist on this planet.
Gold or Silver:  Gold, but I could go for a mixture, if you know what I mean.
Height: 5’7” and ½ (that ½ is very important to me)
Instruments you play: None. I do, however, love the violin more than any other instrument and I’ve always wanted to learn how to play it, maybe someday when I finish my house.
Job title: At home or at work? Wait, I’m the boss in both places so there ya go.
Kids: No thanks, I have some already in the form of 3 girls and 1 boy (and no the boy wasn’t the last one even though EVERYONE asks me that). By the way, his name is Little Dude (really).
Live: I do every day (of course that could change in an instant with all these insane drivers here in the south of France)
Mother’s Name: Orvillee,(Orville +Lee and that’s how it’s pronounced, too) Isn’t that beautiful! The story I heard was that she was supposed to be a boy so my grandparents were going to name her Orville after my grandpa. Well, when she popped out a girl they just added an “e” to the name cuz my grandparents were real creative like that, and voila, Orvillee. I have always loved it, contrary to my mom who has always hated it.
Nicknames: Boss, Ash
Overnight hospital stays: Definitely and hated every minute. Having children at home seems like a good idea now.
Pet peeves:  Drinking out of a Styrofoam cup, drinking directly out of the milk or juice carton, people not respecting personal space, bad customer service and mean people (they suck)
Quote from a movie or tv show:  Now you will receive us. We do not ask for your poor or your hungry. We do not want your tired and sick. It is your corrupt we claim. It is your evil that will be saught by us. With every breath we shall hunt them down. Each day we will spill their blood ‘til it rains down from the skies. Do not kill, do not rape, to not steal. These are principles, which every man of every faith can embrace. These are not polite suggestions, these are codes of behavior and those of you that ignore them will pay the dearest cost. There are varying degrees of evil. We urge you lesser forms of filth not to push the bounds and cross over into true corruption, into our domain. But if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see we three, and on that day, you will reap it. And we will send you to whatever god you wish.

And shepherds we shall be, for thee my Lord for thee, power hath descended forthfrom thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy command. We shall flow a river forth to thee, and teeming with souls shall it ever be. In nomine Patris, et Filii, et Spiritus Sancti.=The Boondock Saints (best movie EVER)

If you want to see the quote in action, go here. It’s freakin’ awesome. WARNING-It is a bit harsh, sorry, but they really are good guys. Oh, and you should also know that this happens to be my girls night out movie, too 🙂
Right or Lefty:  Right (although I use my computer mouse only with my left hand, weird huh?)
Siblings: Nope, I am a lonely only and it’s one of the things I am most sad about in my life. I have always wanted a brother or sister and I always will. My mom told me while I was growing up that I was all she could handle. Jeez, I was a saint, too! (I do have 2 step brothers and 1 step sister, but we didn’t grow up together). I totally had 4 kids because I was (and still am, thanks mom) an only child. I never wanted them to be lonely so I gave them enough playmates that given the event a few were fighting then they would have someone else to go play with. It worked. (true story)
Time you wake up: As late as possible (like 9am or 10am on the weekends)
Underwear: Thongs baby. I don’t go for that granny stuff cuz my butt isn’t the greatest anyway and I don’t need dumb panty lines making it worse (of course Dude says I have a great butt, but he has to say that or he doesn’t get his weekly allowance)
Vegetable you hate: Broccoli –it’s super yucky.
What makes you run late: Dude
X-Rays You’ve Had: A ton and mostly for broken fingers.
Yummy food you make: Lydia’s Famous Haitian Home Made Chicken Soup. Everyone in the family loves it and it’s the first thing I always make for my guest and it pretty much is the only thing I actually like to cook (remember I hate cooking -see above)
Zoo Animal: Panda Bears (I sooooo hate monkeys so that’s why they don’t appear in this coveted spot)

The End

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on March 15, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Although saying ‘forty-something’ may hurt, enjoy it. I’ll be turning fifty this year. Yuck, yuck, super yuck! But I loved all the random info.

    • Thanks, Renee. Every day I get closer to yuck, yuck and super yuck 🙂 I am sooo enjoying where I am cuz it won’t be long. On the other hand, if I do make it to super yuck I’ll be happy cuz it means I’m still around to enjoy France!

  2. Hi Ashley,

    I love this post, what a laugh. We are pretty similar in some ways apart from:

    I am British, 50 something, Married with 2 grown-up children + 2 step children, I live in the UK.

    Oh! and I don’t wear thongs, I find they cut in too much 🙂

    • Your killin’ me Stephen! I’m glad you got a good laugh outta this one. I’m assuming since you didn’t mention The Boondock Saints that you are a fan. That is always a plus!

      • I absolutely loved Boondock Saints, what a film. We could do with a couple of them type of twins around here in the UK. Unfortunately though, the cops don’t take kindly to anyone carrying guns around and killing people (even bad uns).

      • Well, Stephen, if you love Boondock Saints then you are definitely tops in my book! I totally agree with you on needing a few twins like that about town. That is exactly what the USA needs, too! A couple of do-gooder vigilantes to kick some bad butt is always needed:)

      • Hi Ashley,

        Some do-gooder vigilantes are definitely what this country needs as well as a decent government to back them, but that will never happen unfortunately.

        I am too old now at 50+ (although young at heart) but after 15 years in the British Army, 10 years earlier, I would have been the first one to volunteer. But these days I just take my dog for a walk and laugh at the 13 to 16 year olds out of their heads on booze in the local park.(better than drugs).

        I know most of them, so I feel pretty comfortable talking to them, which I quite often do. But I am also aware that they can turn nasty any time with the booze. Two things that I have got going for me, one is the fact that they know myself and my dog. The second is that they know that I won’t back down (they have tested me several times).

        So, to sum things up, I think we have got RESPECT going on from both sides. This has taken me 6 years talking to young people. I am no hero, I just think that the youth of today are miss-understood in many cases. They just want to be listened to.

  3. Hold on tight to that 1/2 inch! When you get a wee bit older, it will disappear. Sad but true….mine has.

    • I agree about that 1/2 inch, that’s why it’s so important to me! I really am gonna lose it one day so I might as well take it for all it’s worth 🙂 BTW- you have delicious looking goodies on your blog! I will have to try some of them 🙂

  4. Great post Ashley – have to say I too thought of ‘borrowing’ it from Sara Louise (and one day I might). You think your 1/2 inch is important? You have 14 1/2 inches more than I do so I think you are being a tad greedy! Love the bit about having the kids – Ed is an only as my younger brother was the biggest pain in my ar*e EVER! Funny how we always want what we can’t have!

    • 14 1/2 inches more than you??!! Wow, Jacqui! Ok- definitely no complaints on that even though I know my 1/2 inch will disappear one day. I take it by your comment that Ed is an only due to your pain in the ar*e brother 🙂 Yes, we ALWAYS want what we can’t have. Human nature I guess. Maybe that’s why I like Hugh Jackman soooo much! I definitely can’t have him 🙂 ha ha!!!

  5. Hi Ashley, that was a really fun post. And totally agree with your pet peeves, bad customer service and mean people totally suck 🙂 Trying to avoid both here! bon weekend

  6. I must really be way behind on watching movies because I am embarrassed to admit I have never even heard of Boondock Saints. So I wonder what am I missing.

    I like all of the tidbits of information about you. I used to be 5’11” and 3/4 but I think I am back to just 5’11”.

    Have a great day.

    • You are definitely not behind the times, Michel. The Boondock Saints has what you’d call a “cult following” and there are a lot of people who haven’t heard of it. Those of us who know it, though, are totally into it. It’s crazy! If you don’t care about watching extreme violence and bad words then you’ll be fine to see it, if not, then I wouldn’t recommend it at all. I have to warn people ahead of time so they are not offended! It is really harsh and the average person would NOT like it! Sorry about losing that 3/4, I’m still hanging onto my 1/2, but barely 🙂

  7. Tu me manques!

Que pensez-vous?

