Sillans-la-Cascade and la Chapelle St. Laurent

My family set out for another day of hiking and this time we settled on an area in the high Var near a town called Sillans-la-Cascade. Just across the road of the old ramparts of the town is a trail that leads you to the Cascade de Sillans (aka the waterfall of Sillans).

Ample and free parking is across the street and the walk to view the waterfall is only 5 or 10 minutes from there.

At the first fork in the road you will come to a sign which says Panorama view of the Cascade and points to the right. Take the trail up a few feet and veer towards the left and you will get a terrific view of the waterfall.

The trail continues on up through the hills and the hike gives you a terrific bird’s eye view of the surrounding area to the left. The valley is dotted with houses, vineyards and olive trees. You don’t have to worry about getting lost or wandering too far away from where you started as this trail makes a circle and brings you right back to the waterfall and the area where you started from (the first fork in the road). Trails like this are wonderful and happen to be my favorite kind. It makes hiking simpler when you are able to end your hike at the same place you began. It’s just more practical when you are only hiking for a few hours or for the day, and not there to camp out and make it a weekend trip!

This particular hike was only a few kilometers and we easy hiked it at great leisure (stopping to admire the view and take plenty of photos) in about 2 hours. Towards the last 20 minutes or so of the hike we came upon an old house in ruins. I bet in its heyday it was a great place to be. You can’t see the waterfall from this spot but you can definitely hear the sound of running water which happens to be a sound I absolutely love! It has to be one of the most soothing sounds you could listen to.

Once back at the fork in the road, make your way down some concrete stairs. This path will wind around and become a dirt path which takes you to the base of the waterfall. Unfortunately you can’t get near the falls as they are blocked off with fences due to the danger of falling rocks. The river which forms at the base, however, offers every advantage to get as close as possible. There is a wonderful area not far down the path where it would be a lovely place to venture out on the large rock and bring a book, read and listen to the running water. I must remember to do that next time (with my picnic lunch!)

You can only travel so far on this path and then it dead ends and you must turn around and go back in the same direction from whence you came. I never saw one person on the hiking trail above, but down at the base, there were a great deal of families and couples strolling near the water.

There are other trails to hike in the area and we proceeded to follow one to the Chapelle St. Laurent. You can get to this chapel the easy way, which means you head back to the parking lot and follow the trail up the hill that is behind the parking area. Reaching the chapel this way will only take about 15 minutes.

We decided we were going to follow the signs and go the “back way” which takes you past some houses, a corral, across the main street and through another housing track before connecting again in a wooded area. It also takes you past two World War II monuments of men who were killed in the area by the Germans during the war. Once you past the two monuments, the chapel is just around the corner. This way takes about an hour or so verses 15 minutes going through the parking area, so which way you go depends on how you really feel about hiking!

The chapel itself is no real treat to look at, though it has been nicely restored by the volunteering town’s people. The real treat is the view you get from the back side of the chapel. If you go around the right side of the building and out onto the rock, the view of the farmlands, houses, the town of Sillans-la-Casade and the olive tree groves is amazing! I could have stayed in that spot all day just drinking it in. I was so grateful and lucky that the day happened to be warm, bright, sunny and there was no wind. It made for a wonderful site to see.

After resting there for quite some time, we headed back down the trail on the right of the chapel (opposite of the trail we arrived on). This took us down to the parking area and offered us closer views of the old chateau in the town just behind the ramparts. This chateau is now a government building and houses several government agencies.

If you’re looking for a hike that is more on the easy side, then hiking around La Cascade is a trail you would want to take. You can approach it leisurely and it is pretty safe for both young and old and everyone in between. The hike to the Chapelle St. Laurent is a bit more difficult so I would discourage taking very young children. There is also the danger, when you reach the top, of being on a very steep cliff which offers no protection if one should fall.

If you have been to the waterfall or the chapel, I would love to hear all about it and if there are other trails around the falls you have hiked on, please let me know. My family is always looking to find interesting hikes to explore.

If you want to see more photos of Sillans-la-Cascade and la Chapelle St. Laurent they appear on Flickr. To get there just click on the “More Photos” option under Photos on Flickr.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Bon Voyage! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love these excursions you are taking us on throughout the French countryside. Do you ever sit with the old stones and ancient foundations and try to channel the previous inhabitants and what it was like for them? Amazing.

    • Nope Renee, I have never tried channeling 🙂 I am however a touchy, feely kind of person and I always get this crazy feeling when I go around a touch old buildings and ruins. I love the energy I feel from them, but that’s about as close to channeling I’ve come to. It always feels wonderful to me to be in the presents of ruins and history!

  2. Thanks for sharing Ashley, looks a lovely place for a good walk. We walk loads, but most of the time it is from the village with the dog, but we do have a few variations and it is nice to get out and see something new. You do live in a beautiful part of France.

    • I really do like Provence and all the wonderful places it has to visit, but I also really enjoy the south-west of France. It has it’s own beauty and I would also like to live there! I’m sure in your area there are beautiful hikes and ruins, as well. I enjoyed very much the pictures you posted of the gorgeous area you live in! France is just beautiful all around 🙂

  3. Great post and pictures, Ashley! I love waterfalls and this one seems to be all to yourselves. 😉

    • Thanks Malou! I love waterfalls, too! I wish I could see more of them 🙂 This waterfall is actually not flowing as much this year as before since we haven’t had too much rain this winter. It has been know to really get itself going after some good rain!

  4. Now that the weather is getting warmer, I’ll have to check out this area some weekend 🙂

    • It’s really nice, Sara! There are so many tiny little villages and wonderful hikes every where! I don’t think I will ever get to them all. Let me know when you are going to be in the area and we can meet up 🙂

  5. Great hiking tip Ashley, I haven’t been to Sillans-la-Cascade yet, and I definitely need more things to do in the Var this summer, thanks!

  1. Pingback: chapelle de Nôtre-Dame de la Houssaye (Bretagne) | Clemens Buur

Que pensez-vous?

