Views From The Remnants of Le Chateau de Giens

In the VAR department of Provence there is a little village called Giens or Presqu’ile de Giens. At one time a chateau stood atop the village, but barely anything is left now. The villagers have turned the area into a beautiful little garden and what still remains offers the most spectacular views.

To one side are the Mediterranean and the iles-de-Porquerolles.

Directly on the other side are an inlet, where kite surfing and parasailing reign supreme, and a view of the surrounding hills of Provence.

The little garden is quaint and lovely, and this time of year the flowers are all in bloom.

It is neatly manicured and also houses an artist’ shop. The artist happened to be holding an exposition on this day. His does beautiful artwork, by the way. If his shop is open, feel free to browse. He allows pictures to be taken, as well.

Just above his art work that was hanging on the stone wall, you will find a plaque giving details of what transpired during history to this chateau.

To see the views you must access some steps to a balcony (which I assume was probably the ground floor of the chateau). On a clear day, the views are exceptional and this day happened to be fairly good weather wise. From this point you can also see the entire garden.

It such a peaceful place and I always enjoy seeing people out and about appreciating the beauty that these little villages have to offer. I also appreciate it when these little villages value their history enough to keep it alive for others to share and enjoy.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Bon Voyage! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. There is so much I don’t know about the Var or the areas along the coast. I have days and days of exploration to look forward to down the road. Thanks for educating me and helping me to plan my future trips to Provence.

  2. I would definitely hope that that garden and all of those flowers are blooming… all of those April showers better have not been for nothing! 🙂

    • Right??? Boy Sara-I am so sick of the rain (being from Southern California even more so)! One big plus, I admit, is how green my area is right now and my garden is totally awesome! I am so ready for some sunny and NON windy days, though!

  3. It’s so delightful when people care about how their environment is – and want to share the good things with others. Thank you for your little tour.

    • Your welcome, Jenny! I’m glad you liked it. I agree. It’s so nice to visit little corners of the Earth that people appreciate enough to take care of. It makes it a nice place for the rest of the world to enjoy.

  4. The sky is so lovely there. Such a wonderful shade of blue against the stones. Another nice tour.

    • Thanks Renee. I love the blue color of the sky here in Provence. Hate the Mistrals, but we get that wonderful color from them. I’ve never seen anything like it any where else.

  5. The Islands (Porquerolles) are incredible. Take the ferry over and have a beach day and superb lunch.

    • Hi Wendy, that’s so funny you mentioned that. I was just suggesting that to Dude this morning. I am hoping that the weather on Tuesday will be nice enough to go. That’s when I am trying to plan the trip. I’m really excited and this time of year it should be nice without the crowds 🙂

      • Should be wonderful. But it’s never really crowded there –even high season. Just a little buzz, not too much!

      • Even better, Wendy. I like tourists (I’m a permanent one myself) but crowds are a different story. I will be really excited if all works out this week and the rain and wind stay away.

Que pensez-vous?

