Ba Ba Black Sheep

You all know how much I LOVE living in the country. I love my vineyards, my hills, my quiet, little, country village and my sheep. Well, they’re not exactly MY sheep (they’re not my vineyards or hills either, but hey, one can wish right??).

So today, on my way to work and taking that most wonderful, delightful drive through the country side, what did I spy? Sheep! They’re everywhere roaming about near my village, now. The sheep herders have finally decided to let them frolic about the country side and guess what?? Most of them are naked!

Today after seeing several different groups of sheep and sheep herders along the route, I finally had Dude stop off on the side of the road so I could take a photo of them.

This particular group was not naked (they were probably glad about that since I was taking their photos). They were, however, all busy about their task of mowing their owner’s yard.

All the sheep were white except for one! I guess you always have to have a “black sheep” in the family, don’t you?

They’re so adorable and I have decided that I want to sheep-napped one of them. I think that my garden is big enough.  He will fit right in with the rooster I want to get 🙂

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 3, 2012, in France by the Snapshot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love the French countryside too. The Mr. already booked our camping holidays in Brittany and Dordogne and I can hardly wait. I share your love of the countryside especially those vineyards, centuries-old hilltop villages, castles, etc. Can hardly wait to visit your adoptive country, Ashley. 😉

    • Lucky you! Malou! I’m so jealous. I haven’t yet been to Brittany, but the Dordogne is my absolute favorite place in all of France. I want to retire there 🙂 You will have a super time there and I will anxiously be waiting for the posts and pictures of your trip. I’m totally excited for you (even though I’m envious, too). I wish you a super fun trip!

  2. Cute cute cute! I melt over the sheep as well… we try to attend one of the Transhumance(s) in the villages to see the sheep up-close at least once a year… they are so adorable & wouldn’t mind taking one home myself 🙂

    • Aren’t they super cool?! I love sheep, Tuula. I never really thought about them before. There weren’t a lot of sheep around southern California! Since coming here I see them and their owners wondering all around the hills and countryside with their little bells on. I just think they are soooo adorable. It’s too bad my yard is all gravel or I would have sheep-napped one of those guys for myself. I just have nothing for them to eat 😦

  3. I have been sheep spying on our travels – did you know milk sheep for cheese (like Roquefort) only have wooly fleece on the top of the their backs. I am guessing this makes milking them easier 🙂

    • Wow Jacqui, it’s true what they say. You learn something new everyday 🙂 Thanks for the little education on sheep. I think they are so cute and I am really enjoying seeing them all over the country side.

Que pensez-vous?

