Saturday Stroll and Dejeuner

Mr. Meteo told me last night that it was going to rain today, so I made no plans to go anywhere.

Well, stupid Mr. Meteo was wrong. I woke this morning (or mid-morning by everyone else’s standards) to a sunny, blue sky. It was a bit breezy, but not too bad. Definitely nothing in the way of the Mistrals or anything, so that brightened my day some.

I’m not complaining about sunny skies, no way Jose. It just that I would have made whole day away plans if I would have known. I treasure my weekend get-a-ways, you know.

So, I again checked Mr. Meteo this morning to see what was up. He was still saying that rain would be coming my way sometime this afternoon which meant that if I wanted to do anything in the outdoorsy way, I had better get on it (if he was telling me the truth).

Since we have such a nice area to stroll in, Dude and I decided to take an hour or so walk before lunch.

To our surprise it was quite pleasant outside and turned out to be perfect weather for a late morning walk.

The little poppies are blooming.

The vineyards are starting to show leaves and thanks to all the rain we have been having, the mountains and fields are a nice shade of green.

Once back home, it was time for a quick lunch.

Yes folks, that’s my idea of a quick lunch, Cantal cheese (I will forever love my friend Jacqui over at The French Village Diaries for introducing me to this wonderful cheese), fresh strawberries, a bottle of Cairanne wine(made known to be my my friend Michel our at Sablet House Provence and that Dude already partook of) and some delicious 1848 dark chocolate while enjoying the view.

I do kind of think I’m spoiled, but somehow I just can’t apologize for it 🙂

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 5, 2012, in French Daily and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Awwww! Provence envy…

  2. I envy you, not for the cheese or strawberries, not even the wine (which I love), it is the view. No need to apologize. Lucky Girl.

    • Yes, Stephen, the view is terrific. I love the views from all of my windows during spring and summer. It’s so relaxing to sit in my living room this time of year. It’s where I spend most of the time when I’m home.

  3. Never apologize for this embarrassment of riches. Just enjoy the envy of all of us living vicariously through you. Those fab views have me desiring a little cheese and wine as well.

    • Have you tried any Cairanne wines, Renee? Dude loved it. He pretty much drank the whole bottle himself! I’m cool with it, though, not being a drinker, but apparently he gave it a thumbs up. He wants to try the other wines from that region,now. I think my blogger friend Michel has created a monster 🙂

  4. annwebsterblog

    The bits of sunshine so welcome. And yes Cantal cheese is the Best!

    • Sunshine is definitely welcomed these days, Ann. Everyone seems a bit grumpy this spring due to vitamin D deficiency! With regards to Cantal, I make sure I always have some in the fridge and I can’t wait to visit the village someday 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Boy, those poppy fields are straight out of an impressionist painting! Exciting to see the vines starting to gear up as well.

  6. Did I miss lunch? Wow, all my favourite things on one table (although a shot of espresso would be an nice addition). Bon apetit!

Que pensez-vous?

