Ile de Porquerolles – Le Jardin Emmanuel Lopez and La Plage

Taking our leave of the Gorge du Loup, we headed back towards the village. I was interested in seeing le Jardin Emmanuel Lopez. Entry is free and the gardens are open every day from 9:30am-12:30pm and then from 14:00pm-18:00pm.

The garden is enclosed and contains lovely trees and flowers. There are many benches along the trail on which to sit and have a rest. It would be a wonderful place to bring a book to read. While we were visiting, there was only a few other people so, like the gorge, we pretty much had the garden all to ourselves.

I pointed out the things I would love to have in my garden at home, like this beautiful iron trellis. I had visions of blooming Wisteria and grape vines overflowing at my house. Oh, how the mind starts dreaming of all the lovely things to have in a garden when you’re visiting someone else’s  garden!

I really wished the sun would have made another appearance so that I could have captured some of the colors of the flowers. I had no luck in that department. As a matter of fact, the overcast had gotten a bit thicker.

As we made our way around the trails of the garden, I noticed all the beautiful houses that bordered it on all sides. How nice for the owners to have this place as their backyard.

After visiting the garden, it was time to head for the beach. This would be our last stop of the day on the island before catching the ferry back to the mainland.

By the time we arrive, the clouds had really rolled in so the color of the water, though still a beautiful blue, was not as captivating as it had been earlier that day. There were a few boats anchored in the harbor and the beach was scarce of people. Nearly everyone was gone so once again we were able to have part of the island all to ourselves.

The island has a real, sandy beach that stretched for miles. I say ‘real’ since I don’t consider rocky beaches to be a ‘real beach’. I’m not a fan of rocky beaches. I want to feel the soft, warm sand between my toes as I stroll along. I don’t want to be in pain and watching my every step as I hobble along next to the water!

I made a mental note to come back next time just to stroll along this beach and to see where it would take me. As far as I could see, it rounded a bend. Hmm, what was on the other side? Another adventure I presumed and something to look forward to.

The water was calm, but surprisingly cold for this time of year. They day had been warm so I assumed the water would have been warmer than what it was.

There was one enormous yacht anchored not far from where we were.

We decided to have some fun with picture taking.

Believe it or not, this is harder than it looks and I didn’t get the photo exactly perfect like I had wanted, but it turned out okay. I was my first attempt at trying something I had seen others do with the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building, etc. I must try and perfect this technique as it is fun to do and when done right, the pictures end up coming out terrifically.

It was finally time to head back to the ferry. On our way, we spotted a restaurant whose many, different, colored tables lined the edge of the water. Now that would be a nice place to have lunch!

My list of things to do on my next visit was growing ever larger. I had now planned to do a biking tour, visit the other forts on the island, take a stroll along the beach to see what was around the bend and dine at a restaurant near the water’s edge.

Yup, I’d say all of those were the best reasons to come back for a visit.

If you’ve been to the Ile de Porquerolles, I’d love to hear what you found interesting to do. There is always room on my list to add a few more things 🙂

 

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Bon Voyage! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. More lovely spots to visit, and I must confess, I am totally impressed with the second to last photo. It makes that big ole cruise ship look like a mere toy. Good job.

    • I thought they looked like toys too, Renee. The yacht was so big in real life and in the picture it doesn’t look that big. Funny how things seen in real life show up so much different in photos.

  2. I am with you about sandy beaches being real beaches compared to the rocky ones you see so much of along the Mediterannean Sea.

    • Sand is the first thing I look for here in a beach, Michel. If there isn’t any, I don’t stop! I want lots and lots of it. What sort of fun can you have making a rock castle or getting buried in rocks?

  3. It’s fun to explore what is just waiting for you in your backyard. I live in The Netherlands and will explore one of the Frisian Islands, Vlieland, of the north coast. It is rich in WWII history b/c of it’s defense line for the Germans. No luxury yachts on the North Sea, I’m afraid just sailboats and merchant ships in the shipping lane along the coast.

    • Hi Nancy! Thanks for stopping by and for commenting 🙂 Have a great time at the Frisian Islands. I’ve never been to The Netherlands, though I would really like to go someday. I plan on taking a bike tour through the tulip fields! It is such a beautiful country and I’m practically around the corner so it would be a shame not to vacation there.

  4. One of my dreams is to have a trellis like that but covered in different kind of climbing roses.

    • That would be gorgeous Jenny. You would also have nice smelling garden 🙂 I really like wild roses. I haven’t seen to many of them here, but they have that untamed beauty about them. Those on a trellis would be timeless.

  1. Pingback: Ile de Porquerolles – Le Jardin Emmanuel Lopez and La Plage | Loving Provence | Scoop.it

Que pensez-vous?

