Visions of Provence

Hotel L’Orangeraie in La Croix-Valmer

La Rotonde in Aix en Provence

Window Decor in the village of Rougiers

Villeneuve-les-Avignon

Rougiers

Les Calanques near Cassis

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 19, 2012, in Visions of France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Ohhh, lovely photos! My favorite has to be the Calanques near Cassis, can’t get enough of that place – so gorgeous.

    • I love the Calanques, too Tuula! The view never gets old. The colors that play off of the water are ridiculously wonderful. Everyone should get to go visit this area at least once in their life!

  2. Always a delight to revisit.

    • Thanks Claire 🙂 Thank goodness we live in a day and age where photographs exist! Can’t imagine life without being able to revisit all the wonderful places I’ve been.

      • And an era when we can set a screensaver to browse our photo albums, I set my Dad’s PC up to do that and his wife reports that she often finds him sitting in the study just watching the screen as the pictures flick over, revisiting and reliving the wonderful memories – that is even better than any shelved album in my opinion, especially when we are half a world away 🙂

      • I love those screensaver albums! So much so that I don’t have one 🙂 I spend far too much time in front of the computer. Heaven forbid I have a screensaver of all the wonderful places I have been. I would just stand in front of it all day dreaming and get nothing done. It would be known as the screensaver of Erised (hint of Harry Potter there)!

  3. Really nice pictures. Reminds me I have to go visit Villeneuve-les-Avignon. I have an elderly cousin and his wife who live there and we go to visit them but have never taken the time to go visit the town. I hear its very pretty and there are great views from several places.

    • It has the most wonderful 360 degree views, Michel. On a clear day, you can see Le Palais des Papes in all it’s glory! It’s amazing. There is a lovely bench in the gardens on which you can just sit and gaze out toward Avignon. I spent quite a bit of time there the first time I visited this town. I have been meaning to write a post on this town!

  4. Sam @ Fit for my Fork

    Gorgeous pictures! What a beautiful part of the world.

  5. I am not familiar with the Calanques area but it sure looks lovely. Is that you down there in the boat?

  1. Pingback: Visions of Provence | Loving Provence | Scoop.it

Que pensez-vous?

