Diggin’ Ditches and Pickin’ Cherries

Today was the day we really got down to business digging the trenches in the yard.

First stop was to the local material store to pick up some drainage pipe. Benoit had to tough it out and help us along with getting the stuff home. Our poor car has been through the ringer since we moved to this house. He’s had to do more than Renault ever expected him to do.  As always he was a trooper and we made it home, materials and all and didn’t even get a ticket for illegal use of a car :). Good thing we only needed 4 tubes or we would have had to go back for another pickup.

Once home, Dude and I got to work digging the trenches. We are running two of them down the sides of the yard and they are going to tie into each other and then tie into the drainage pipe that the city comes to put in.

Who knew you could do so much with these three little tools.

Dude’s job was to use the pick to break up the top layer of the drive way, turn the dirt up and get the rocks out. Then my job was taking the trenching shovel and getting all the dirt out.

While Dude was busy doing his part of the job, I went to work picking the delicious cherries off of our tree. We have so many that there is no way I will be able to get them all. Lately the birds have been stopping by to feast so I figured that we should try to get our fair share before they’re gone. I ended up picking almost half of a bucket today and that was only off of 4 branches!

Then it was back to scooping dirt for me.

We were able to get all the trenching done today and tomorrow we just have to fine tune it and then level the driveway out. I’d say we were pretty successful. Let’s hope tomorrow our luck holds out.

Oh, and by the end of the day, Dude was done in.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 2, 2012, in The House of the Farmer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow! Those trenches look like a ton of work! But, the cherries are a wonderful reward 🙂

  2. Cherries already? Another reason to live in Provence!

  3. Sam @ Fit for my Fork

    LOL I love the last picture. Poor Dude! Amazing that you have a cherry tree – will you eat the cherries or bake something yummy with them? 😉

    • Hi Sam! The last picture was Dude’s idea! He really did feel like that 🙂 The cherries are still in the pail! I need to clean them up and set them out on the dinning room table. I think this batch will be eaten. There are so many that I could make pies for everyone in our village!

  4. That last photo made me laugh! Excellent job with the ditch digging, I would have felt pretty nervous driving with those tubes sticking out of the car.

  5. That looks like a lot of work; I am happy you had the cherries to enjoy as a treat for all of your hard work. I hope the City workers showed up as scheduled.

    • It’s been too much work, Michel! Just like everything in this crazy house. They cherries were great and I have to pick some more. They are all starting to turn really red 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

