Visions of Medieval Villages and Chateaux in Provence

Ruins in Villeneuve-les-Avignon

Saint-Paul-de-Vence

Another view of the Chateau in Tarascon

Village house in Grimaud

View from the hilltop of Greoux-les-Bains

Tour de l’horloge of Saint-Martin-de-Bromes

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Visions of France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Hi Ashley, what a beautiful place. After all of your hard work I think you all deserve a bit of a break. I particularly liked the Tour de l’horloge of Saint-Martin-de-Bromes. Just so that you know Ashley, I have been absent for quite a while due to a few courses that I decided to do. Unfortunately I took on more than I realized and I just haven’t had the time to get online.

    The good news is that all courses are now finished and passed. Now I can get back to doing what I enjoy most. Working via the internet. Yeah!

    • Good for you hittin’ the books. Have fun enjoying your work on the net:) I love the clock tower, too. It’s too bad you can’t go inside. I would have loved to seen the view from up top.

  2. I still haven’t been to Saint-Paul-de-Vence, hopefully this summer 🙂

  3. Such exquisite pictures! And I like the door very much… 🙂

  4. These photos make me to forego all other travelling and just settle in southern France, drink in its ambiance and go in search of yet more intriguing villages.

    • Hi Lynne! That’s exactly why I live here 🙂 The endless beauty that surrounds me is so wonderful that it all makes up for the hard work we have to deal with on the house. I certainly make my weekends count!

  5. I’m pouring a glass of bordeaux right now, just because this is so darn inspiring and makes me want to visit these places immediately! Wow! Think of the history lived behind those stones.

    • Glad I could contribute to your glass of bordeaux, Renee! History is always the second thing that pops into my mind when I see these places, gorgeous is always the first!

  6. Reblogged this on Retirement 365 and commented:
    One of my regular Retirement 365 categories will be Travel Lust. Since I’m currently traveling 🙂 I thought I’d start you off with a very interesting blog about Provence that I follow (almost religiously, since I promised to tell the unvarnished truth).

  7. Beautiful! That second photo reminds me of the old town of Pollensa in Mallorca. You make me want to go on holiday to the south of France. You live in such a lovely area of the world.

    • Well Lorna, if you do come on holiday here, let me know and we could meet up at some fantastic tea room 🙂 I agree it is a lovely place to live, expensive as heck, but lovely!

Que pensez-vous?

