Visions of Contrast in Provence

The beach in Bandol

Bike Rentals on L’Ile de Porquerolles

Grazing sheep in Gemenos

The Port at Sanary-sur-Mer

The hills above La Roquebrussanne

Purple flowers in full bloom in Sanary-sur-Mer

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Visions of France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. More beautiful pictures from Provence. I hope I make it to Bandol and Sanary-Sur-Mer when I am in Provence at the end of June. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

    • Michel- I know Bandol had been on your “to go to” list for some time. I really hope you make it there this summer. It is one of my favorite places. As a matter of fact, it’s the first place Dude and I looked at when we were searching to buy our house. Unfortunately, it was too pricey for us, but as least we are only 30 minutes away. I try to go there often.

  2. Reblogged this on Star in the Stone and commented:
    lovely place to visit!

  3. Isn’t there a pink wine from Bandol? And a vinegar I think…
    I LOVE that pic of the signs and the bicycle. So colorful!

    • I’ve heard good things about the wine from Bandol, Liza, but I haven’t tried any, yet. There is so many different wines here that you could try a different wine a day and never get around to trying them all! I love the picture with the signs and bicycles, too! The minute I saw this sign I just had to take the photo. I would like to have a replica in my yard 🙂

  4. La Roquebrussanne is where my youngest daughter started going to the halte garderie 🙂
    I’ll let you know when I go to Cassis. i’m thinking the end of next week, or sometime during the week after. I’d love to meet up then!

  5. Lovely sunshine and beautiful photos, I feel as if I’m on holiday just looking at them.

    • Thank you Lorna 🙂 I feel the same way. Every weekend I feel like I’m on holiday and I just love it. There is always so much to do and see here and it never gets old!

      • I bet it never gets cold either! I can imagine it’s a wonderful place to be. I had a holiday in Languedoc a few years ago and it was glorious.

      • Actually Lorna, surprisingly it does! It’s nothing like Northern France or the UK, but we actually have to bust out our scarves and really warm jackets for about 5 months here. I was super surprise my first winter. Being from Southern California I thought the weather was similar. Boy was I in for a shock. Lucky it doesn’t last too long and the beautiful springs we have here are all worth it. Spring is my favorite time of year here 🙂

  6. Beautiful pictures, Ashley! I can hardly wait for our holidays next month. Aching to go. 😉

    • Thanks Malou! It is shaping up to be a very nice spring and looks like summer will be wonderful, too. With all the rain we’ve had this year it will probably still be really green when you come 🙂

Que pensez-vous?

