Citroën 2CV

The Citroën 2CV is another favorite car of mind that I see all over France.  They look like they have so much personality by the way the headlights are placed. The body style is super cute and gives the car a lot of character. Here is a bit more info on this four-wheeled, two horse-powered, beauty http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citro%C3%ABn_2CV

These two happen to be a couple of my favorites, but for different reasons.

I really like the baby blue one because the owners have taken such good care of it. The color is great and it was really clean both inside and out. It also had a nice, straight body and no dings or rust. If I didn’t know better, I would have thought it just came of the factory line.

 

The red one was cool mostly because of the spotted cowhide interior. That really makes it! Even though this one was not as well maintained as the blue one, it was still in really good condition. I love the rag top, as well.

This particular car is fast becoming in contention as a second vehicle for our family. We shall soon see.

The down side is that they all use petrol, which is very expensive here in France. You can, of course, “build your own” and put in a diesel motor, but that just seems like too much work for me.

We are for the moment, a one car family, which is something we really have never been. So far, though, this has worked out great with my office being only 10 minutes away from my apartment and Dude, being a kept man, ends up going everywhere with me anyway!

But these times are changin’. We are moving next month and we will be located about 1 hour away from my office. We’ll definitely need another car.

Hummm, the Mehari or the Citroen??  I really hope I’m able to choose one of these, cuz I would totally look great in either one!

One thing is for sure, I will post a pic of the newest addition to our family when he arrives. No matter what he is.

About backyardprovence

I was finally able to realized my dream of living in France when I moved here in 2010. I love to read,I love history and road trips. I want to be doing anything outside in the fresh air. I want to have an entire room devoted to a personal library.

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Cars in France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Funny to think that Deux-Chevaux were the affordable cars back in 60’s and 70’s. They have become antiques now and cost a bomb. I heard there are rallies of decorated 2 CVs out there. My dad owns a Renault 4L, the other emblematic car of the 60’s but it’s hard to find parts and he’s got to add something to regular unlead gasoline to turn in. I got a memory about this classmate of mine back in highschool who drove me back home from the Baccalauréat test (high school final exam) in his 2CV. Have you tried to open up the windows? Takes some skills!
    One hour to drive to work sure is a long way. Hope you got no traffic jams to bear with!

Que pensez-vous?

